HIST 112: American History, 1500-1877 (HC)

Members of the Allinson family were involved in the abolition movement, and the collection includes materials from their membership in the New Jersey Society for Promoting the Abolition of Slavery, mostly from the late 18th century, as well as manumissions of enslaved people. Some of the correspondence, particularly that of Samuel Allinson, also deals with issues of slavery.

Baily was a Philadelphia merchant with an interest in temperance, prison reform, Bible study, and abolition. The collection contains Baily's correspondence, his diaries, and speeches he gave.

Benezet, a Native of France, was a philanthropist and teacher who was active in promoting an end to slavery and the trade of enslaved individuals.

Coates was a Philadelphia merchant and publisher who was also active in the educational reform and abolition movements. He was a member of the American Colonization Society, which established Liberia as a colony for African-Americans in West Africa. This collection includes Coates's correspondence about Liberia and resettlement.

Thomas Pim Cope was a Philadelphia merchant (founder of the Cope shipping business) and civic leader. He was interested in issues of slavery. The collection also includes several letters of abolitionist Thomas Garrett about his activities on the Underground Railroad and work with Harriet Tubman.

Sailors from the Schooner Jack attest to an "insurrection of Negros" which prevented them from selling their cargo.

Thomas Garrett was a blacksmith and iron merchant in Wilmington, Delaware. His house was a station on the Underground Railroad. In 1848 he was tried for aiding freedom-seeking enslaved people.

This collection consists mostly of Civil War era letters written by Edward Hallowell. Hallowell was a Quaker, but was moved to fight in the Civil War in order to eradicate slavery.

Abby Kelley Foster was a prominent Quaker activist for both womens' rights and abolition. This collection of her correspondence focus mainly on these issues and include letters from Susan B. Anthony, Lucretia Mott, Frederick Douglass, and William Lloyd Garrison.

Pleasants manumitted his eighty enslaved people and worked to establish educational opportunities for formerly enslaved people. His letterbook includes correspondence with major contemporary political figures including George Washington, James Madison, Thomas Jefferson, and Patrick Henry. His correspondence focuses primarily on the issues of religion and abolition.

This collection contains correspondence and diaries of Samuel Rhoads, who was active in a number of reform causes. He was one of three publishers of The Non-Slaveholder, a Philadelphia monthly which appeared from 1846 to 1854. He was also a founder of the Friends of Philadelphia Free Produce Association.

Rogers was a New Hampshire lawyer and anti-slavery advocate. He was editor of the Herald of Freedom, an anti-slavery newspaper, and also spoke on slavery issues. The collection includes texts of speeches and an 1840 diary.

Thomas Scattergood was a Quaker minister. He traveled to the South, where he spoke out against slavery and preached to enslaved people. The collections includes letters and diaries.

By George W. Taylor, businessman and abolitionist. Taylor describes his family genealogy, his early education, his experiences growing up as a Quaker and his career as a teacher in New York and Pennsylvania, and his business selling dry goods produced without the use of enslaved labor during the Civil War.

This collection includes letters to George Washington Taylor, a Philadelphia storekeeper active in the abolition movement and one of the publishers of the magazine The Non-Slaveholder.

Julia Wilbur worked closely with Harriet Jacobs to assist formerly enslaved people in Alexandria, Virginia, including distributing food and organizing schools. Wilbur was also active in the women's suffrage movement. The diaries in this collection cover the period of the 1840s through the 1890s.

This collection is comprised of original and typed transcripts of manumissions of enslaved people.

This collection is comprised of the single volume manuscript which describes Jackson’s interviews with Quaker enslavers in Maryland. The volume is organized by the names of individuals that Jackson interviewed, their reasons for enslaving people, and whether or not they could be persuaded to free the people they enslaved.

This collection is comprised of two items of Samuel Jones' papers, and includes a copy of his will, as well as a copy of an emancipation document for a family enslaved by Jones.

This collection is composed of the single volume scrapbook which is comprised of clippings of an article on the Christiana Riot, published in 1910 by the Atlantic Monthly, but originally published in 1866. The article, "The Freedman's Story," was written by William Parker, a formerly enslaved person who escaped slavery and became an abolitionist and activist in Pennsylvania, and was a key actor in the Christiana Riot, and described his memory of the event. It is not known who compiled the scrapbook.

The society was founded to help formerly enslaved people who had moved to Canada. Included are minutes and treasurer's records from 1852-3.

One of the first declarations against the institution of slavery, this document serves as a textual account of the protest by Germantown Meeting in Philadelphia against the ethical inconsistencies of slavery. It was signed by Germantown Meeting members on February 18, 1688.

The records of the Philadelphia Yearly Meeting include minute books and other miscellaneous materials and provide documentation of Quaker anti-slavery movements in Philadelphia. We also hold records of many of the monthly and quarterly meetings that make up PYM.

Records of Quaker meetings from the Baltimore and Virginia areas.

This volume records the manumissions of enslaved people for various members of Abington Monthly meeting. The Manumissions include a statement describing who the enslaver is freeing, and why, and includes the signatures of the enslaver and their witnesses.

This collection is comprised of two volumes, one from the New Jersey Society for Promoting the Abolition of Slavery, and one from its Burlington County branch. They both contain minutes. The state Society provided nominations of members to the county groups, as well as created rules, by laws, and constitutions to run those organizations.

Also includes the constitution of the Free Produce Society of Philadelphia as well as a list of groceries and dry goods available at George Taylor's Philadelphia store.

Members of the Allinson family were involved in the abolition movement, and the collection includes materials from their membership in the New Jersey Society for Promoting the Abolition of Slavery, mostly from the late 18th century, as well as manumissions of enslaved people. Some of the correspondence, particularly that of Samuel Allinson, also deals with issues of slavery.

1843

The by-laws of the association affiliated with the Philadelphia Yearly Meeting.

The collection includes letters from George W. Taylor to Smith Battey and Isaac Steere which discuss his free produce business in Philadelphia; some invoices are also included.

This book of minutes covers 1845 to 1852 for the Philadelphia Yearly Meeting Free Produce Association.

"at a Free Produce Meeting of Friends held at their MeetingHouse in Newport, R. I., 6th Mo. 16th, 1851, by adjournment from last year."

"At a meeting holden in Friends Meeting house in Newport for the purpose of promoting the disuse of articles the produce of the labor of slaves."

"Published by the Managers of the Free Produce Association of Friends of Ohio Yearly Meeting" in 1851.

We hold the reports for both 1853 and 1855.

This collection contains correspondence and diaries of Samuel Rhoads, who was active in a number of reform causes. He was one of three publishers of The Non-Slaveholder, a Philadelphia monthly which appeared from 1846 to 1854. He was also a founder of the Friends of Philadelphia Free Produce Association.

This British broadside does not specifically address the Free Produce movement, but expresses many similar ideas.

This collection includes letters to George Washington Taylor, a Philadelphia storekeeper active in the abolition movement and one of the publishers of the magazine The Non-Slaveholder.

Includes letters, bylaws, reports, and minutes of the Free Produce Association of the Philadelphia Yearly Meeting from 1845 to 1851. George Washington Taylor was one of its founders.

This essay was written by Elihu Burritt.

Includes the constitution of the Free Produce Association as well as financial information for 1846.