Research Guides: LING 037: Foreign Language Learning (SC): Articles

Linguistics

Before conducting your search:

Consider how your argument might be broken down into keywords or phrases.

Compile a list of synonyms for those keywords. What other terms might scholars use to talk about your topic, and how do these terms reflect the type of argument scholars are making? (E.g., insurgency vs. rebellion)

Consider which intersections among your keywords will be useful for searching

Indentify disciplines that are relevant to your research question. Also consider the ways in which your question might reside outside traditional discplines or cut across them.

See the Search Tips tab for additional information about searching Tripod Articles and other databases.

LLBA: Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts of the world's literature in linguistics and language-related research, including journal articles, books, book reviews, dissertations and some conference proceedings. Covers all aspects of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology,syntax and semantics. Includes historical, comparative, theoretical and social linguistics and related disciplines such as anthropology, education, and ethnology. Covers 1973-present.

The main sources for identifying articles and books in Anthropology and related fields.

AnthroSource
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find scholarly journal articles in Anthropology. Articles are from peer-reviewed journals published by the American Anthropological Association.
Anthropology Plus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find scholarly journal articles in Anthropology.
Abstracts in Anthropology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online version of a quarterly publiction, which includes references to journal articles, miscellaneous papers, and books, arranged under sections on archaeology, ethnology, linguistics, and physical anthropology. Also contains cross references and a cross index.

ARD: the Anthropology Review Database
Despite the dated design, the Anthropology Review Database is an up-to-date resource and an excellent place to find book reviews in anthropology. Contains approximately 2600 full-text reviews of books in anthropology.

eHRAF (e-Human Relations Area Files) World Cultures
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains ethnographic and other documents describing the cultures of the world. Includes books, journal articles, and dissertations that are compiled into culture profiles. Many documents are in full-text.

Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of education research, including journal articles, books, reports, and other sources.
Also freely available through www.eric.ed.gov.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.
ProQuest Education Database
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A large database of education research, including journal articles, books, reports, and other sources. Similar to ERIC.
PsycINFO
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Essential database of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations in psychology and related behavioral sciences from 1887 - present.
Includes PsycARTICLES journals.

CogNet Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of e-books and journal articles in the brain and cognitive sciences.
PsycINFO
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Essential database of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations in psychology and related behavioral sciences from 1887 - present.
Includes PsycARTICLES journals.
PsycARTICLES
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for peer-reviewed research articles exclusively from journals published by the APA.
PsycARTICLES journals are also indexed in PsycINFO.