Gallaudet Encyclopedia of Deaf People and Deafness by John V. Van Cleve
Publication Date: 1987-01-01
This unique encyclopedia, including an 8,000-entry index and bibliographies for most articles, meets the needs of both professionals and laypersons for clearly written, comprehensive information about the deaf and hearing impaired. library... and is especially useful for government agencies, rehabilitation centers, and all individuals involved in any way with the deaf community... and, of course, for the deaf and hearing-impaired themselves.
The MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders by Raymond D. Kent (Editor)
Publication Date: 2003-09-26
Topics covered in MITECD include cochlear implants for children and adults, pitch perception, tinnitus, alaryngeal voice and speech rehabilitation, neural mechanisms of vocalization, holistic voice therapy techniques, computer-based approaches to children's speech and language disorders, neurogenic mutism, regional dialect, agrammatism, global aphasia, and psychosocial problems associated with communicative disorders.
The Oxford Handbook of Cognitive Linguistics by Hubert Cuyckens (Editor); Dirk Geeraerts (Editor)
Publication Date: 2007-11-16
The Oxford Handbook of Cognitive Linguistics presents a comprehensive overview of the main theoretical concepts and descriptive/theoretical models of Cognitive Linguistics, and covers its various subfields, theoretical as well as applied.
Over the past 150 years, but most especially near the end of the 20th and beginning of the21st century, advances in the acquisition and development of language competencies and skills have been increasing rapidly. This volume addresses many of those accomplishments as well as remaining challenges and new questions that have arisen from multiple perspectives: theoretical, linguistic, social-emotional, neuro-biological, and socio-cultural.
Sociolinguistics and Deaf Communities by Ceil Lucas (Editor); Adam C. Schembri (Editor)
Publication Date: 2015-02-12
Topics covered include multilingualism in the global deaf community, sociolinguistic variation and change in sign languages, bilingualism and language contact between signed and spoken languages, attitudes towards sign languages, sign language planning and policy, and sign language discourse.
Contains abstracts of the world's literature in linguistics and language-related research, including journal articles, books, book reviews, dissertations and some conference proceedings. Covers all aspects of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology,syntax and semantics. Includes historical, comparative, theoretical and social linguistics and related disciplines such as anthropology, education, and ethnology. Covers 1973-present.
Contains information on the world's over 7000 known living languages. Includes alternate names, dialects, number of speakers, multilingualism, demographic and sociolinguistic information when known. Includes country index with maps, language names index, language codes and language families index.
Haverford and Swarthmore have access to all Ethnologue content via a subscription; Bryn Mawr has limited free page views to full content.