This library guide is meant to help you with your assignments for EALC 219, introduce you to some resources on Contemporary East Asian Art and Visual Culture, and help you locate materials in the Special Collections at Haverford College for your assignments.
The following website has numerous student-written essays and analyses on the Chinese Political posters found in Special Collections.
https://digitalscholarship.brynmawr.edu/scalar/cadbury-chinese-poster-collection/index
A good place to start is to look at the following book (see link below), particularly pages 77-133. In it, you will find a selection of questions to ask yourself when analyzing artwork.
A Short Guide to Writing about Art by 
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowYour VoiceThread presentation from the Archive will require working with the program, VoiceThread. Lynda.com is a wonderful resource with online tutorials on how to use various apps and software.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowLiterature reviews are a particularly useful kind of article when doing research. They address the issues involved in a particular question and the debates among scholars. They map out the intellectual terrain succinctly and give you the major landmarks in terms of key authors and significant titles.
The Oxford Bibliographies Online 
provides literature reviews for a variety of fields including Asian Studies (they specify the following subject areas: Chinese Studies, Buddhism, International Relations, etc. You can take a look at their subjects and complete a few searches to find what you are interested in). There are also Art History bibliographies. The essays take the form of an annotated bibliography. It gives you the benefit of expert advice when identifying what to read for your research.
Relevant articles that might interest you:
