RELG 118: Hebrew Bible (HC)

Contains the Book of Esther on a roll of brown leather. RH 6

Contains the Book of Esther on a scroll encased in a silver roller. RH 72

Contains part of Jeremiah 48, with rabbinical commentary by David ben Yosef Kimchi on top. RH 12

Contains 2 Kings 10:19 - 12:2 and 2 Kings 25:25 ad fin. RH 10

Contains the Book of Lamentations on a roll of brown leather. RH 4

Contains Leviticus 8:34 to 9:14, as well as commentary by the medieval French rabbi Rashi (Shlomo Yitzhaki). RH 8

This Masoretic Bible contains the books of Tanakh, Nevi’im (Prophets), and Ketuvim (Writings). RH 1

Contains portions of Maimonides Mishneh Torah: Sefer Yad ha-Hazakah including Nashim, Kedushah, and Hafla'ah. RH 16

Contains the book of Ruth on a roll of brown leather. RH 5

Contains the Song of Songs on a roll of brown leather. RH 7

Contains the Pentateuch. RH 3

Contains the Pentateuch. RH 2

The word "taj," when used to refer to a genre of Biblical literature refers to the Biblical text in Hebrew, followed by the interlinear, alternating Aramaic paraphrase of Targum of Onkelos, and the tafsir or paraphrase of Sa'adia Gaon in Judeo-Arabic. RH 14

The word "taj," when used to refer to a genre of Biblical literature refers to the Biblical text in Hebrew, followed by the interlinear, alternating Aramaic paraphrase of Targum of Onkelos, and the tafsir or paraphrase of Sa'adia Gaon in Judeo-Arabic.

Contains "Sayings of the Fathers" with a brief commentary written above and below the text. The initial word of each section is generally written in large script and with red ink. RH 15

Ladino (Judeo-Spanish) translation of Sefer ha-Yashar which includes legends (midrash) on parts of the Pentateuch and the Book of Joshua. Copied from the printed work in Turkish/Byzantine hand. Mispaginated when rebound. RH 18

This fifteenth-century Bible is written in Latin. It lacks the conclusion of prologues and beginning of Genesis, as well as the conclusion of Psalms; the text resumes with Proverbs. It includes annotations and drawings by John Pemberton, a member of the Society of Friends.

18th century Ethiopic manuscript, probably written by multiple scribes, with marginal notes, glosses, and corrections in later hands. RH 23

Undated Ethiopic manuscript containing prayers and hymns addressed chiefly to the Virgin Mary. Contains several drawings. RH 24

Undated Syriac manuscript of the Four Gospels prefaced with calendar pages. RH 27

Syriac manuscript from 1209 containing the Four Gospels. RH 33

This is William Penn's copy of a polyglot Bible, in original leather binding. It includes Greek and revised Latin version, the old Latin version and Hebrew on opposite pages.

This polyglot bible contains the New Testament in Greek and Latin.

This Bible, written in English, is a "Great Bible," or a revision by Miles Coverdale (1488-1568) of the so-called "Matthew" Bible.

A polyglot Bible from the 17th century: "Cum pentateucho Samaritano, Chaldaicum, Graecum; versionumque antiquarum, Samaritanae, Gr︠ae︡c︠ae︡ LXXII interp., Chaldaic︠ae︡, Syriac︠ae︡, Arabic︠ae︡, Aethiopic︠ae︡, Persic︠ae︡, Vulg."

The Vulgate Latin translation of the New Testament. This edition was published in 1538 in Venice.

The Greek text of the Epistles of Paul with three Latin versions: the version of Erasmus (called "editio posterior"), that of Jacques Lefèvre d'Etaples (called "prior"), and the Vulgate. Published in Venice in 1533.

A 1478 printed Latin bible.

"Translated according to the Ebrue and Greke, and conferred With the best translations in diuers languages. With moste profitable annotations vpon all the hard places, and other things of great importance as may appeare in the Epistle to the Reader"
First edition of the so-called "Geneva version", the earliest English Bible printed in roman type, with verse divisions. Translated by William Whittingham, Anthony Gilby, Thomas Sampson, and perhaps others, at Geneva. This copy published in 1560.

Elihu Grant was a Haverford professor who excavated at the Beth Shemesh archeological site. This set of papers contains letters on archeological topics.

Photographs show the site at Beth Shemesh, artifacts, and people and were taken during the Haverford expedition of 1930-1931.

Shards of pottery excavated from the Beth Shemesh site.