The United States has always been a nation of immigrants, shaped by successive waves of new arrivals. This comprehensive guide addresses such topics as immigration law and policy, refugees, unauthorised migrants, racial and ethnic identity, assimilation, economy, politics, religion, and family relations.
This richly illustrated set is the definitive reference on American immigration from both historic and contemporary perspectives. It traces the scope and sweep of U.S. immigration from the earliest colonial settlements to the present, focusing on critical issues as well as the groups of people involved. The set fully documents and examines every major immigrant group and every era through detailed analysis of social, legal, political, economic, and demographic factors. Archival and contemporary photographs, along with hundreds of pages of documents and illustrations, further illuminate the information provided. Featuring a wealth of data derived from INS records, the U.S. Census, and the Departments of Commerce and Labor, Encyclopedia of American Immigration is divided into four parts: * Part I: History of U.S. Immigration - From colonial times to the present. * Part II: Immigration Issues - Includes laws and policy, politics, economics, labor, demographics, legal vs. illegal, the INS, culture, language, and more. * Part III: The Immigrant Groups by Region of the World * Part IV: Documents in American Immigration - Includes laws, historical census data, and other pertinent documents.
The debate over America's multiculturalism has been intense for nearly three decades, dividing opponents into those insisting on such recognition and those fearing that such a formal acknowledgment will undermine the civic bonds created by a heterogeneous nation. Facts have often been the victim in this dispute, and few works have successfully attempted to present the broad spectrum of America's ethnic groups in a format that is readable, current, and authoritative. The chapters in this reference book demonstrate that America has been far more than a nation of immigrants; it has been a nation of peoples--of virtually all races, religions, and nationalities--inclusive of indigenous natives and peoples long present as well as myriad immigrant and refugee groups. Not all groups have equally found America to be a land of opportunity, and the successes of some groups have come at the expense of others. To understand the American experience, the reader must not just study the story of immigrants living on the East Coast, but also the history of those living in the South, Southwest, West, and even Alaska and Hawaii. As a reference book, this volume provides thorough coverage of more than two dozen racial, ethnic, and religious groups in the United States. Each chapter is written by an expert contributor and overviews the experiences of one group or a cluster of related groups. The chapters are arranged alphabetically and cover groups such as African Americans, American Indians, Filipinos, Hawaiians, Mexicans, Mormons, and Puerto Ricans. To the extent possible, each chapter discusses the initial arrival of the group in America; the adaptation of the first generation of immigrants; the economic, political, and cultural integration of the group; and the status of the group in contemporary American society. Each chapter closes with a bibliographical essay, and the volume concludes with a review of the most important general works on America's multicultural heritage.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage is from 1861 to the present day.
Offers full-text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. In English and Spanish, it offers additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Covers 1990-present.