HIST 254: Harvest of Empire, U.S. History, 1898 to the Present (HC)

Offers fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides (1820-1900) and 15,000 pieces of ephemera (1760 -1900) from the American Antiquarian Society collection. Subjects range from contemporary accounts of the Civil War, unusual occurrences and natural disasters to official government proclamations, tax bills and town meeting reports. Material types include clipper ship sailing cards, early trade cards, bill heads, theater and music programs, stock certificates, menus and invitations documenting civic, political and private celebrations.

Provides information on, and access to, digitized versions of primary-source collections on American history and culture, including photographs, documents, sound recordings, and motion pictures.

Search through 1,800 magazines and journals published in the United States between 1740-1940. Includes early scientific publications, trade journals, popular magazines such as Ladies' Home Journal, and journals such as Puck, The Dial, and McClure's.

Search through 170 periodicals by and about African Americans, including academic and political journals, magazines, newsletters, literary journals, annual reports of organizations, and other genres. Includes publications from 25 states and Washington, DC.

Search through 2,000+ historical newspapers published in the United States between 1690-1922. Includes publications from all 50 states, large cities and small towns, and a mix of major newspapers and titles with smaller circulations.

Provides access to approximately 10,000 books and over 50,000 journal articles in the University of Michigan and Cornell University Libraries from the antebellum through reconstruction periods. Covers American social history focusing especially on education, psychology, religion, science, and technology.

Contains collections of primary sources spanning the 15th-21st centuries, on a global geographic scale. Though based in Britain, the collections contain much information pertinent to the United States and its international influence. Relevant collections include :
China, America and the Pacific
American Indian Histories and Cultures
American West
American Indian Newspapers
American History, 1493-1945
Confidential Print: North America, 1824-1961 ("These range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. All items marked ‘Confidential Print’ were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet and to heads of British missions abroad." There are also Confidential Print collections on Africa, Latin America, and the Middle East.)
Empire Online
Leisure, Travel & Mass Culture: The History of Tourism
World's Fairs
Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1981 ("[This collection] addresses the policies, economies, political relationships and significant events of every major Middle East power. Conflicts such as the Arab-Israeli War, the Lebanese Civil War and the Iranian Revolution are examined in detail, as are the military interventions and peace negotiations carried out by regional and foreign powers like the United States and Russia.")
Foreign Office Files for Japan, 1919-1952 (includes sources on U.S. relations with and occupation of Japan)
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980
Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980

Contains full text declassified government documents owned by the National Security Archive covering world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions. Includes collections of indexed documents (with new collections added yearly), glossaries, chronologies, bibliographies, overviews, and photographs. Coverage from post-World War II to present.

Provides daily updated information on the U.S. legislature, including full text of bills starting in 1989, public laws starting in 1988, committee reports starting in 1990, House and Senate documents starting in 1995, Congressional Record starting in 1985, Federal Register starting in 1980, National Journal starting in 1977 and other government information.

Provides full-text of all reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives from 1817-1994.