Research Guides: HLTH 218: Experiencing and Responding to Illness and Disability (HC) Spring 2016: Guides to Health

Guides to Health and Wellness

Advice to the people in general: with regard to their health.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This publication offers early medical advice and was written by S.A.D. Tissot in 1765.
A brief collection of many rare secrets: many of which are approved and physical and the rest most pleasant and recreative...
Written by Edward La Fountaine in 1650.
more...less...
Full title: A brief collection of many rare secrets: many of which are approved and physical and the rest most pleasant and recreative: very necessary for all sorts of people
Cautions against the use of violent medicines in fevers, and instances of the virtue of petasite root
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This book by John Hill is bound with a collection of rare and valuable pieces relating to the last plague in the year 1665.
The English physician: enlarged with three hundred and sixty-nine medicines, made of English herbs, that were not in any impression until this.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This work by Nicholas Culpeper contains an index of various medicinal plants and outlines some therapeutic remedies utilized in the years before 1800.
Illness: its cause and cure: an appendix to Simple questions and sanitary facts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This 1867 book on medical remedies was published by J. Burns and has a preface signed by "an Irishwoman."
Maladies, remedies and physicians of colonial days in Burlington County, and other kindred topics...
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This work was read before the Historical Society of Burlington County and contains references to several Quaker physicians.
more...less...
Full title: Maladies, remedies and physicians of colonial days in Burlington County, and other kindred topics.: Read before the Historical society of Burlington county, Dec. 11th, 1908
Mrs. J. Morse's celebrated vegetable extract, for rickets, weakness, debility, dropsy, dysentary [sic], diarrhœa, ulcers....
Published in 1838.
more...less...
Full title: Mrs. J. Morse's celebrated vegetable extract, for rickets, weakness, debility, dropsy, dysentary [sic], diarrhœa, ulcers in the head, internal inflamation [sic], cutaneous erruptions caused by impurity of the blood, &c
Panacea, or, The universal medicine: being a discovery of the wonderfull vertues of tobacco taken in a pipe...
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This book includes some of the perceived health benefits of smoking proposed by Giles Everard in 1659.
more...less...
Full title: Panacea, or, The universal medicine: being a discovery of the wonderfull vertues of tobacco taken in a pipe: with its operation and use both in physick and chyrurgery
Primitive Physick: or, An easy and natural method of curing most diseases
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This book provides an early account of medical practices by John Wesley in 1747.
The virtues of honey in preventing many of the worst disorders...
Written by John Hill in 1759.
more...less...
Full title: The virtues of honey in preventing many of the worst disorders: and in the certain cure of several others: particularly the gravel, asthmas, coughs, hoarseness, and a tough morning phlegm.
Means of preserving health and preventing diseases
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Porter's health almanac for 1832
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
"Calculated generally for all parts of the United States"
The family companion for health
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"or, Plain, easy, and certain rules, which being punctually observ'd and follow'd, will keep families free from diseases, and procure them a long life"
The immortal mentor
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"or, Man's unerring guide to a healthy, wealthy, and happy life. In three parts."
Via recta ad vitam longam
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"Or, A plain philosophicall demonstration of the nature, faculties, and effects of all such things as by way of nourishments make for the preservation of health."
The laws of health in relation to the human form
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Receipt and Commonplace Books

Receipt and Commonplace books are generally handwritten notebooks containing a variety of information, including notes, poetry, prayers, recipes, medicines, etc.

Samuel McGrew material
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
These materials contain McGrew's diary/commonplace book from the 1830s that contain medicinal recipes as well as thoughts on religion and other reflections.
Elizabeth R. Shoemaker Taylor
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The final volume of her four volumes of commonplace books contains recipes for medical, culinary, and cleaning purposes and was written during the years 1827-1839.
Taylor-Nicholson-Shoemaker-Allinson Collection
Though primarily consisting of genealogical material, this collection also contains a combination recipe and receipt book.
Notebook: The American ladies pocket book for the year 1799
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This work contains home remedies as well as annotated accounts.
Scrapbook
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This scrapbook contains recipes, household hints, and home remedies and was held by members of the Hoopes and Bunting families.
Margaret Hill Morris recipe book
A large number of recipes in this volume are for various ailments and illnesses, from adults to infants.