Skip to main content

Research: Resources and Strategies

Finding Scholarly Articles

Use journal databases where you can apply a full range of search techniques to find scholarship on your topic.  See the Search Tips tab for more details.  

      Identifying which database/s to search is a strategic choice:  

         Multi-disciplinary databases, sometimes with magazines and newspapers included.  They cover the top-tier journals but will not go into depth in all subject areas:     

            Proquest Research Library  Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present. 

Enhance your PRL search by choosing a subject area with its related databases or adding individual databases from the link at the top of the page.

            Web of Science   Covers the humanities and social sciences as well

            JSTOR   All articles are full-text and come from quality journals; but the latest 3 to 5 years of articles are usually not included.

         Subject-specific databases give more in-depth coverage of topics.  

            The Research Guides website outlines the major databases by subject area.  It also includes resource lists for classes and for categories like news and government information.  The Research Guides site can be searched by word or phrase (in quotations) to find something specific. 

            Use the  button to get full-text copies of articles.

A separate window will open with links either to a digital copy of the article, a locally available print copy, or an Article Delivery request form for ordering material not held by the tri-college libraries. To request items not held locally, simply enter your name and barcode and submit the request.

Tracking Citations Forward in Time

Usually researchers find more sources by looking at the footnotes in an article or book, but these will always be older than the publication you have in hand.  
Citation indexes like the Web of Science (which includes sections for the Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, and Science) are set up to search for sources cited in the footnotes of journal articles as soon as they become available.  This allows you to find newer articles which cite the books and articles you already know are key for your topic.  By relying on connections between authors rather than subject words and by moving forward in time, citation searching can open up new avenues of research.

Indexes Giving Cited Reference Information