Browse the topics to find the latest issues. Education Week is a weekly report of education-related news, particularly useful for finding short articles on current topics and debates in education and education policy.
A good place to find an overview of timely topics: The Review of Research in Education provides an annual overview and descriptive analysis of selected topics of relevant research literature through critical and synthesizing essays.
Handbook of Education Politics and Policy by Bruce S. Cooper (Editor); James G. Cibulka (Editor); Bruce Cooper (Editor); Lance Fusarelli (Editor); James Cibulka; Lance D. Fusarelli (Editor)
Bringing together school politics, law, finance and reform, this handbook provides a three-part framework for understanding education politics and policy. Part one examines the structural background, part two looks at micro-level behaviour, and part three discusses ideological and philosophical positions. We just ordered the 2015 edition for Swarthmore.
Education is no longer just about what happens in classrooms and schools, but increasingly is about the rules and regulations that drive our education system. Defining the boundaries of this fast growing and wide ranging field is the objective of this comprehensive, AERA sponsored handbook.
The Oxford Handbook of State and Local Government (2014)
The Oxford Handbook of American State and Local Government contains a wide range of essays that define the important questions in the field, evaluate where we are in answering them, and set the direction and terms of discourse for future work. It covers the main areas of study in subnational politics by exploring the central contributions to the comparative study of institutions, behavior, and policy in the American context. **See the chapter on Education Policy.**
The RoutledgeFalmer Reader in Education Policy and Politics (2007)
This Reader brings together a wide range of material to present an international perspective on topical issues in educational policy and politics today. Focusing on the enduring trends in this field, this lively and informative Reader provides broad coverage of the field and includes all the crucial topics. With an emphasis on new pieces that deal with issues relevant to the immediate real world, this book represents the research and views of some of the most respected authors in the field today.
The Routledge International Handbook of the Sociology of Education (2010)
This collection brings together the work of a group of leading sociologists of education to explore and address key issues and concerns within the discipline. The chapters provide 'state of the art' accounts of contemporary educational processes, global trends, and changing and enduring forms of social conflict.