Research Guides: LING 100/399: Senior Thesis Seminar (TriCo): Finding Articles

Finding Scholarly Articles

Before conducting your search:

Consider how your argument might be broken down into keywords or phrases.

Compile a list of synonyms for those keywords. What other terms might scholars use to talk about your topic, and how do these terms reflect the type of argument scholars are making? (E.g., insurgency vs. rebellion)

Consider which intersections among your keywords will be useful for searching

Identify disciplines that are relevant to your research question. Also consider the ways in which your question might reside outside traditional disciplines or cut across them.

Best Bets: Linguistics

LLBA: Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts of the world's literature in linguistics and language-related research, including journal articles, books, book reviews, dissertations and some conference proceedings. Covers all aspects of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology,syntax and semantics. Includes historical, comparative, theoretical and social linguistics and related disciplines such as anthropology, education, and ethnology. Covers 1973-present.

Discipline-Specific and Multidisciplinary Sources

Anthropology Plus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find scholarly journal articles in Anthropology.
Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of education research, including journal articles, books, reports, and other sources.
Also freely available through www.eric.ed.gov.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.
Project Muse journals
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.
Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports in all disciplines. Linked to Tripod.
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find multidisciplinary scholarly articles (sciences, social sciences, and humanities). Citation searching also allows search for highly cited articles and books.

Related Subject Guides

*Anthropology*
by Margaret Schaus Last Updated Feb 10, 2024 179 views this year
*Computer Science*
by Carol Howe Last Updated Jan 11, 2023 32 views this year
*English Literature*
by Arleen Zimmerle Last Updated Oct 23, 2023 228 views this year
*Latin American & Iberian Studies*
by Roberto Vargas Last Updated Nov 22, 2022 12 views this year
*Political Science*
by Simon Elichko Last Updated Feb 2, 2024 303 views this year
*Psychology*
by Andrea Baruzzi Last Updated Sep 20, 2023 256 views this year
*Sociology*
by Dee Brown Last Updated Feb 10, 2024 172 views this year