Environmental History materials in Haverford Special Collections

Drinker was a Quaker who refused to take an oath of loyalty during the Revolutionary War and was exiled to Virginia. Most of this correspondence revolves around land in Southport, PA. Also see 995R for a plan of his land made after his death.

Includes land deeds and surveys; see particularly the sections on John Alford and Edward Shippen Sr.

Includes a number of deeds for land in Chester County.

Includes numerous deeds, indentures, surveys, and maps from the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, mostly from New Jersey.

Mostly legal materials, including land deeds and surveys, from Darby Township, PA.

The collection includes land grants and deeds.

By Louis Aggasiz, who was a geologist famous for being one of the first to propose an ice age in geologic history and for controversy surrounding his theory of polygenism and rejection of evolution. This work is in part a travelogue of Agassiz’s visit to Lake Superior and part his observations on the geology of the area. It contains numerous illustrations.

By Matthew Maury, who was an American oceanographer and navy officer. This book is notable for being one of the first surveys of oceanography and includes discussion of the gulf stream, the atmosphere, and the geography of the floor of the Atlantic.

The Managers of the Garden was a committee appointed by the Haverford College Loganian Society to care for the Society's botanical garden. These minutes include information about purchasing plans for plants in the garden, notes on new appointees to the committee, and plans for hiring outside help to care for the garden.

The Haverford College Campus Club was created for the "improvement and preservation of the College Campus, the marking and cataloging of the rare trees and shrubs on the campus, the stimulating of an interest in ornithology by the attraction and observation of birds, and especially the promotion of an interest in forestry in general." This collection contains Campus Club minutes as well as other organizational documents, including annual reports, drawings, publications, photographs, and membership materials.

The Haverford College Arboretum Association records include materials related to Arboretum programming, events, membership, finances, and campus initiatives from its founding in 1974 to 2018. The collection also includes a smaller amount of materials related to the Arboretum Association's predecessor, the Haverford College Campus Club.

(HCD)