Environmental History materials in Haverford Special Collections

Correspondence between the closely related Quaker families of Cope and Evans.

White was an engineer who helped to build the first canal to bring coal to Philadelphia via the Lehigh River and the first wire suspension bridge. His collection includes letters (both personal and business related), journals, financial information, and business papers.

Includes information on the importance of the riverfronts and canal infrastructure to the commercial viability of the city.

35 reports from between 1800 and 1889 regarding transporting coal from the Lehigh Valley, including via canals.

By Hutchinson, H. Description of the opening of the Erie Canal and referring to Rochester (N.Y.) as "almost a city in the woods," and negotiations in Lockport (N.Y.)

By Stone, William L. New York: 1825.

By Colden, Cadwallader D. New York: Printed by order of the Corporation of New York, 1825.

New York (N.Y.). Common Council. 1826.

By Ongania, Ferdinando. New York: Ongania, 1895-1896.

Henry Hartshorne (1823-1897) was a doctor with numerous civic interests. The collection includes information on water, sanitation, quarantine, infant mortality in box 9.

Cope was on the Philadelphia City Council, and his papers from his role there include the "committee for watering the city."

By Mease, James. Philadelphia: R. Desilver, 1831. Includes a description of the Philadelphia Water Works.

By Fallon, Jonathan. Germantown: 1851.

By Hartshorne, Henry. Philadelphia: Collins printing house, 1889.

By Guernsey, Egbert. Includes information about building a bridge across East River from Ravenswood to N.Y.

By Slade, Adolphus. The dearth of water and neglect of water works in Turkey.

(HCV R7 OB)

Of special interest are the Weather Report, 1848-1852, 1862-1863 and the Superintendent’s Day Books, 1817-1894, which often include comments on the weather as well as its effect on the patients.

Includes weather observations of Jacob R. Elfreth, 1814-1870.

Entries include daily descriptions of weather from 1861-1924.

Includes annotated home remedies.

Includes two commonplace books of Mary Robinson Morton, as well as two almanacs from the 1790s which she annotated.

Joshua Baily's daily entries provide brief descriptions of the weather, often including the temperature.

Hetzel was a professor of engineering at Haverford and an amateur photographer. He was deeply involved with Seneca protests over the flooding of their land due to the construction of the Kinzua Dam in the 1950s and 1960s.

Includes information on the building of and activism against the Kinzua dam in Northern PA; see especially the section from Robert and Edith Reeves Solenberger.

By Meigs, Montgomery. Condition of dams and water works after ice.

Rush, Benjamin. Philadelphia: J. Humphreys, Jr., 1773.

Venner, Tobias. London: Printed by R. Bishop for H. Hood, 1638. Includes information about taking the waters at Bath, England.

By Maury, Matthew Fontaine. This map shows the locations of different kinds of whales around the world.

By Meader, J. W. Boston: B. B. Russell, 1872.

Walton, Izaak. London, Sampson Low, Marston, Searle and Rivington [printed by William Clowes and sons] 1888.