Research Guides: HIST 067: South American "Dirty Wars" and US Involvement (SC): --- Other databases

Finding Primary Sources Online

Primary sources can be such a wide range of document types, from newspaper articles to letters. There is no comprehensive website for finding them. Here are some suggested starting points.

FBIS Daily Reports, 1941-1996
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
FBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government. Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world . "The United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence"

Empire Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers images of original documents taken from libraries and archives around the world including correspondence, diaries, literature and illustrations. Includes documents published between 1492-1969.
World News Connection
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains translated international media sources for the period 1995-2013. Material is obtained from non-U.S. political speeches, television programs, radio broadcasts, newspaper articles, periodicals, etc.

U.S. Government Publications

These links may be helpful for finding primary sources (produced by the US government) that aren't included in the DNSA. If you have any difficulty searching these, talk to Sarah for assistance (selichk1).

U.S. Congressional Serial Set
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
These reports and documents touch on many aspects of US domestic and international affairs, so the Serial Set can offer interesting sources for researching topics one doesn't think of as strictly government-focused.
ProQuest Congressional
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides daily updated information on the U.S. legislature, including full text of bills starting in 1989, public laws starting in 1988, committee reports starting in 1990, House and Senate documents starting in 1995, Congressional Record starting in 1985, Federal Register starting in 1980, National Journal starting in 1977 and other government information.

Specialized Collections of Primary Sources (Online)

There are many websites offering digitized versions of primary source documents pertaining to Latin America. Here are just a few options. Talk with a libraran to find others.

Documents of 20th-century Latin American and Latino Art: Digital Archive
Provides access to primary sources and critical documents tracing the development of twentieth-century art in Latin America and among Latino populations in the United States.
Latin American Posters Collection (Princeton University Library)
The posters included in this collection were created by a wide variety of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, and other types of organizations across Latin America, in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and services. Even though posters produced in Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Ecuador, Mexico, and Venezuela are the most abundant among the more than two thousand currently available in the site, almost every country in the region is represented. (Site description)
Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection
Digital collection of (scanned) Latin American pamphlets published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries.
Modern History Sourcebook: 19th Century Latin America
Links to transcribed primary source documents, mostly in English.
Modern History Sourcebook: 20th Century Latin America
Links to transcribed primary source documents, mostly in English.
Bolivian Digital Pamphlets Collection
This is a collection of 715 digitized pamphlets documenting a century of Bolivian culture from 1848-1948.
Latin American Travelogues
This project is a digital collection of Latin American travel accounts written in the 16th-19th centuries. (Note that the introductory essays are written by undergraduate students.)

HIST 067: South American "Dirty Wars" and US Involvement (SC)

Connect to Resources

Select the shortcut for your school to access a library resource.

Finding Primary Sources Online

U.S. Government Publications

Specialized Collections of Primary Sources (Online)