Skip to main content

HIST 067: South American "Dirty Wars" and US Involvement (SC)

History 067 - Digging Through the National Security Archive: South American "Dirty Wars" and the United States Involvement (Diego Armus) Fall 2017

Digging into declassified documents

What is the National Security Archive?National Security Archive logo

Founded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents ("the world's largest nongovernmental collection" according to the Los Angeles Times), leading non-profit user of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act, public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information, global advocate of open government, and indexer and publisher of former secrets.

How do I access declassified documents held by the National Security Archive?

The DNSA website lets you search, view, and download documents from the National Security Archive. Documents are organized in thematic collections, so you can browse an individual set of documents or search across multiple collections.

Search across all DNSA collections available at Swarthmore

Some of the collections:

Argentina, 1975-1980: The Making of U.S. Human Rights Policy

Chile and the United States: U.S. Policy toward Democracy, Dictatorship, and Human Rights, 1970-1990

CIA Covert Operations: From Carter to Obama, 1977-2010

(These links will work on- or off-campus for Swarthmore students, faculty, and staff.)