Research Guides: HIST 043: Antislavery in America (SC): Database tips for experienced searchers

Tracing Cited References

Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Advanced Search allows you to find results by author, article title, publication title and more. Google Scholar covers journal articles in depth but also cites some websites and word documents.

Use the following databases to find a relevant resource and then see which later texts cite the one with which you start. Keep in mind, however, that the citations will no be comprehensive—i.e., the citations will often be limited by the scope of the database in which you're working.

Web of Science Citation Databases
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Follow these instructions to conduct cited reference searches in Web of Science:
- Choose the "Cited Reference Search tab" to begin.
- Then enter the author's name (last name, then first initial only with asterisk: e.g., smith, b*).
- Insert the publication year in the "Cited Year" box.
- Under "Current Limits," open Citation Databases and uncheck any collections that you want to exclude from your search. (You will most likely want only the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.)
- On the next screen, choose the relevant results based on the "Cited Work" titles. The results screen shows the newest articles first. Check the article summary (if included) to determine the relevance of each resource.

Database searching for experienced researchers

If you've been using advanced search techniques like phrase searching and you're not finding enough sources that are on-topic, take a look at this quick slideshow.