Skip to main content
Check Bryn Mawr's, Haverford's, or Swarthmore's library websites for additional resources during COVID-19.

SPAN 087: Cruzando Fronteras (SC) Spring 2015: MLA Style Quick Guide (7th Edition)

SPAN 087:Cruzando Fronteras: Migracion y transnacionalismo en el cine mexicano (Buiza) Spring 2015

Citation Managers

MLA

MLA Important Things to Remember!

MLA and Spanish Language Names (MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 3.8.4)

The Spanish de is not used before the last name when it stands alone.

example:  Zayas y Sotomayor, Maria de (María de Zayas y Sotomayor)

 The Spanish word del is formed from the combination of the preposition de and the definite article el. It is capitalized and used with the last name alone.

Examples: Del Aguila, Rafael Del Pino, Jose Manuel

A Spanish surname traditionally includes both the paternal name and the maternal name, with or without the conjunction y. The paternal name is usually first, the maternal name usually second. The surname of a married woman traditionally includes her paternal surname and her husband’s paternal surname, connected by de. Alphabetize Spanish names by the full surnames.

example: Zayas y Sotomayor, Maria de

Even persons commonly known by the maternal portions of their surnames, such as Lorca, should be alphabetized by their full surnames.

 example: García Lorca, Federico

 A biographical dictionary may provide assistance in distinguishing surnames and given names. MLA recommends consulting a biographical dictionary for assistance in sorting out surnames and given names. Here are several suggestions in McCabe Library:

Perez, Janet, and Maureen Ihrie, eds. The Feminist Encyclopedia of Spanish Literature. Westport: Greenwood, 2002. Print.

Levine, Linda Gould, Ellen Engelson Marson, and Gloria Feiman Waldman, eds. Spanish Women Writers: A Bio-bibliographical Source Book. Westport: Greenwood, 1993. Print. 

Gies, David T., Ed. The Cambridge History of Spanish Literature. New York: Cambridge UP, 2004. Print. 

Labanyi, Jo, ed. Spanish Literature A Very Short Introduction. New York: Oxford UP, 2010. Online.

 Credo Reference. The Companion to Hispanic Studies. London: Oxford UP, 202. Online

MLA and Spanish Capitalization (MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 3.8.4)

MLA Style for Spanish is the same as regular MLA style except that titles are written in sentence capitalization rather than in headline capitalization.

Format your paper so that each item in your bibliography begins with a hanging indent.

Book:

Instructions for different kinds of books (books in series, chapters in books, translated books, etc) begin at section 5.5.2 in the MLA manual.

So, for example:

Author’s name. Title of the book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. Format.

 

García Márquez, Gabriel. Cien años de soledad. Madrid : Ca╠ütedra,

2004. Print.

 

Journal Article:

Instructions for citing periodicals (including newspapers and journal articles) begin at section 5.4.2 in the MLA manual.

So, for example:

Author’s name. “Title of the article.” Journal Title volume. issue (Year): page numbers. Format.

Piper, Andrew. “Rethinking the print object: Goethe and the Book of Everything.” PMLA 121.1 (2006): 124-38. Print.

 

Web Page:

Include as much information as you can, understanding that not every web page provides all the information below. There is no need to include the URL of the web page unless it is hard to find in Google. Instructions for citing web sources begin at section 5.6 in the MLA manual.

  1. Name of the author
  2. Title of the work (italicized if the work is independent; in roman type and quotation marks if the work is part of a larger work)
  3. Title of the overall Web site (italicized), if distinct from item 2
  4. Version or edition used
  5. Publisher or sponsor of the site; if not available, use N.p.
  6. Date of publication (day, month, and year, as available); if nothing is available, usen.d.
  7. Medium of publication (Web)
  8. Date of access (day, month, and year)

So for example:

“Maplewood, New Jersey.” Map. Google Maps. Google, 15 May 2008. Web. 15 May 2008.

Quade, Alex. “Elite team rescues troops behind enemy lines.” CNN.com. Cable News Network, 19 Mar. 2007. Web. 15 May 2008.

 

 

 

 

 

MLA and A Republished Book or Journal Issue (MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 5.5.16)

If you are citing a reprinted edition, such as a paperback book that was originally published as a hardcover edition, you should indicate this in your citation. In MLA style, give the original date of publication after the title of the book, then give the date of publication for the edition you are citing after the publisher's name.

 

example:

García Márquez, Gabriel. Cien años de soledad. 1967. New York: Vintage Espanol, 2009. Print.