Research Guides: POLS 243 Gender and Sexuality-Africa and the Middle East (HC): Finding Journal Articles

Journals

Journal articles provide in depth scholarly information. They are vetted and improved by peer review. They are usually fairly short in length and focused on discussing one specific issue. The following indexes are good places to find journal articles about political science.

Use the Find It button in these indexes to check if the journal articles are available in the Tri-College libraries. If the journal is not listed in Tripod, use the Find It request form or the Interlibrary Loan Request Form on Tripod to have a digital copy of the article sent to your email address in around three days.

Subject-Specific Databases

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides access to journal articles in political science and related fields. This is a good way to find quickly research and analysis by political scientists.

Political Science Databases

Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) Index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, government documents, and reports. Areas covered include political, economic, social and public policy issues. Covers 1915-present.

Gender Studies Databases
GenderWatch
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to scholarly journals, books, and other kinds of publications. Materials focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. Covers 1970-present.
Women's Studies International
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, books, and book chapters in the core areas of women's studies. Covers material published from 1972-present.

Area Studies Databases
Africa-Wide
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers access to multi-disciplinary information on Africa including books, journal articles, maps and music recordings. Some materials are in full-text. Covers 19th century-present.
Index Islamicus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers citations to literature on the Middle East, Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to journal articles, books, and book reviews from 1906 to present.

Databases Covering All Subject Areas

Articles (in Tripod)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles searches millions of journal and newspaper articles, many of them in full text and available through the Tri-College Libraries. It can be a good place to start a search by giving you a sense of the range of materials available and approaches they take. It is also useful when looking for lesser known topics because it draws on so many published articles from all subject areas.

ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines. You can use filters to see only scholarly or popular articles. Covers 1971-present.

Subject Guide

Margaret Schaus

Email Me

Subjects: Africana & Black Studies, Cities, Classics, History, Latin American & Iberian Studies, Political Science, Writing Program