Research Guides: POLS 243 Gender and Sexuality-Africa and the Middle East (HC): Relevant Books

Identifying Relevant Books

Use Tripod to look for relevant books owned by Haverford, Swarthmore, and Bryn Mawr.

The following suggested subject searches are only a sampling of possibilities. To find materials on a topic not listed below, try doing a keyword search in the Tripod Library Catalog to find relevant titles and then using the subject headings assigned to those items to find more.

rwanda* (women* OR gender* OR female*) [Keyword Search]
africa sub-saharan politics and government [Keyword Search]
congo democratic republic politics and government [Subject Search]
rape as a weapon of war [Subject Search]
(rape OR "sex crime*") (politic* OR social) [Subject Search]

Dissertations

Doctoral students tend to work on new questions, sometimes ones that have received very little attention from scholars before. You can see these dissertations and benefit from all the new ideas. Search Dissertations & Theses to identify titles on your topic.

Dissertations & Theses
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage is from 1861 to the present day.

Beyond the Tri-College Collections

WorldCat is an important place to look for many materials not owned by the Tri-College Libraries. This combined library catalog contains more than 300 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Many of these items are available to you though interlibrary loan

WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.

Borrowing Beyond the Tri-Co
Request items that are not available in Tripod through E-ZBorrow or Interlibrary Loan. Note that E-Z Borrow is the first place to look for books not in Tripod. It usually takes just three days for E-Z Borrow books to arrive. Books not in E-Z Borrow can come from Interlibrary Loan (ILL) which may take as little as four or five days to arrive.

For journal articles not available in the three colleges, use the Article Delivery form. In around 3 days you will receive a digital copy of the requested articles in your email.