Skip to main content

HIST 400: Senior Thesis Seminar (HC) 2017-18

History 400: Senior Thesis Seminar (Hayton, Kitroeff and Krippner) Fall 2016 and Spring 2017

Online Catalogs

For a more thorough check of manuscript material, primarily in the U. S., see these online catalog:

Sources in Special Collections Libraries

Unpublished documents and books printed prior to 1850 are usually kept in libraries' special collections.  You can go to other collections to work with material you need.  Before visiting a non-TriCo special collections, you will want to be prepared. Some may require appointments with a prior list of materials you need to see, while others may have limited hours. Talk with Margaret Schaus, Mike Zarafonetis, or Sarah Horowitz for descriptions of collections and persons to contact or with any questions or concerns you have. 

Special Collections, Haverford College
Especially strong in Quaker history, faith, and practice. with other strengths in abolition, Native Americans, the Mid-Atlantic from the colonial period through the early 20th century, missionaries in Japan and the Middle East, and photography.   To find more information by subject, you can browse research guides to various topics of interest, which can take you to specific sources. Browse or search the many hundreds of collection descriptions/finding aids to find manusrcipt materials, or search Tripod for rare books. 

Special Collections, Bryn Mawr College

Special Collections librarians welcome researchers from Haverford.  E-mail or phone Marianne Hansen or Eric Pumroy to tell them your research needs before going over to Bryn Mawr.  Also beforehand look in particular at the collection guides and online exhibits lto get an idea of the kinds of material available for research: 

         Books on London
         French Revolution Pamphlets

Consortium for History of Science, Technology and Medicine Special Collections Search                                  This group of 22 libraries and scholarly societies promotes research in the history of science. Their collections, many located in the Philadelphia area or East Coast cities, are available for you to use when making an on-site research trip. Use this federated search to see what kinds of materials in your subject area are available.

Historical Society of Pennsylvania
HSP was founded in 1824 and has rich holdings in manuscripts, Pennsylvania and Philadelphia history, and ethnic studies.

Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Van Pelt LibraryUniversity of Pennsylvania
The Rare Book and Manuscript Library houses rich holdings including the Henry Charles Lea collection of Inquisition documents and Early Modern books in philosophy and social thought.

Urban Archives, Temple University
"The Urban Archives was established in 1967 to document the social, economic, and physical development of the Philadelphia area from the mid-19th century to the present."- Website