HIST 400: Senior Thesis Seminar (HC) 2023-24

Provides abstracts of journal articles, reviews and dissertations on United States and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Covers material published from 1954 to the present. Offers a great searching feature to limit content by the range of years covered in the articles and essays.

Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book reviews and dissertations that cover world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in "America: History and Life"). Includes material published from 1953 to the present. Provides the same great limit by timespan as does "America History and Life."

Provides online access to the entire core collection of more than fifty significant scholarly journals in the field of religion. Also provides citation information for journal articles, book reviews and essays for over 600 journals in the fields of religion and theology. Covers 1949-present.

Indexes historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods of history. Note that you can limit results by historical time period.

Provides abstracts to economic journals, books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers. Topics include economic theory and history, monetary theory, labor economics, international, regional and urban economics. Coverage 1969-present.

Important resource for legal and political studies. Provides searchable database of periodicals and government documents. Subscribed collections include: Law Journal Library, U.S. Congressional documents, U.S. federal legislative history library, U.S. presidential library, U.S. Statutes at large, U.S. Supreme Court library. Coverage for each periodical is from the beginning issue to the most current allowed under contract.

Provides coverage of scholarship on European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. Indexes 500 core journals, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogs. For material published prior to 2008, see Art Index and the Bibliography of the History of Art.

Database of scholarly books and articles related to literature, language, linguistics, film, theater and folklore. Includes scholarship from 1926 to the present.

Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, essays and book reviews published worldwide. Topics covered include: ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. Covers publications from 1940 to the present.

Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports, intergovernmental, and private organizations' reports. Areas covered include political, economic, social and public policy issues. Covers 1915-present. Valuable for identifying important sources for 20th century history.

Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, newspapers, dissertations and bulletins, in the core areas of women's studies. Subjects include, feminism, women of color, science, health and technology. Includes different women's studies resources. Covers 1972-present.

Offers access to multi-disciplinary information on Africa including books, journal articles, maps and music recordings. Some materials are in full-text. Covers 19th century-present.

Provides citations to journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festshriften on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Covers 1971-present. Complete citations end with the 1991 records. Since 1992, newly published books are no longer being added.

Focuses on all aspects of Indigenous culture, history, and life primarily in North America. Provides citations for newspapers, magazines, academic journals, books, reviews, and trade publications from the United States and Canada with expanded content from Great Britain and Australia.

Contains citations to scholarly journal articles published in Latin America, Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean, and to materials that address this region and U.S. Hispanic topics. Covers political, economic, and social issues. Some citations link to full-text articles. Covers 1970-present.

Offers citations to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to journal articles, essays in books, and book reviews from 1906 to present.

Full-text database of Latin American academic journals in social sciences, humanities, science and medicine. Also covers popular Latin American and Hispanic magazines and newspapers.

Covers all aspects of Hispanic studies, from research on indigenous cultures past and present to current economic indicators, politics, society, and Hispanic theater. Disciplines covered include anthropology, economics, history, literature, political science and sociology. Includes works in English and Spanish.

Offers citations to journal articles and essays in books relating to Jewish Studies and to Israel. Material comes mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National Library. Covers 1966-present.

When you connect, choose the Cited References option to begin.
Enter the author's name: Last name first, First name initial only with asterisk (e.g., Smith J*)
Skip Cited Work box
Put the publication year in the Cited Year(s) box
On the next screen, sort the results by Cited Work, choose the relevant results and hit "See Results."
The results screen shows the newest articles first. Most records include a summary of contents, so that you can determine how relevant they may be for your research.
Use the search box and filters on the left to refine your results. See the variety of ways in which you can sort results and add a further keyword. Note also the References link on the far right. It gives you an immediate view of the bibliographies from the Cited References you have just found.