Skip to main content

Haverford College History (HC)

Focusing mainly on original primary materials found in Special Collections, this guide provides access to a variety of different materials about Haverford College history.

College Publications

In addition to records kept by various college departments, materials published by Haverford can be an important source of information about the college. Some of the most important publications are listed below. Unless otherwise noted, Special Collections holds full runs of these publications.

Haverford College Catalogs
The Haverford College Catalog includes course information, faculty listings, admissions information, and general information on the college. Holdings run from 1852 until the present. Some of these have also been digitized and are available online.

Haverford College Bulletin
The Bulletin includes the College Catalog, Alumni number, Athletic number, a campus directory, and reports from the President, Comptroller, and Board of Managers. It was published between 1901 and 1982. Some of these issues have been digitized and are available online.

Haverford College Annual Report 
Includes reports from the president, vice-president for finance, and some academic departments. These reports begin in 1983; in 2002 their name was changed to "State of the College."

Horizons/Haverford
The alumni magazine of Haverford College, called Horizons from 1959-1987, and Haverford from 1987 to the present.

Directories
Directories from 1916 onward list students, faculty, and staff; those before 1916 list faculty and staff only.

Student Handbooks
Handbooks include rules and regulations for students. Holdings run from 1865 through 1985.