Research Guides: HIST 114: Origins of the Global South (HC): Journal Articles

Finding Journal Articles

Journal articles provide in depth scholarly information on historical research. They are vetted and improved by peer review. The following indexes are the best ways to find journal articles about global history, art, and related topics.

Use the button in these indexes to find out if the journal articles are available in the Tri-College libraries. If the journal is not listed in Tripod, use the Find It request form or the Article Delivery Form on Tripod to have a copy of the article emailed to you.

Multidisciplinary Indexes

ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present. More than half of the citations include the full-text of the article. Use this for a quick overview of articles in the journals that appeal to broader scholarly audiences
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Note, however, that the most current scholarship is often missing because issues of journals from the last three to five years are not covered.

Discipline-Specific Indexes

These indexes are particularly good for accessing the scholarly literature of specific disciplines, i.e., articles written by historians, religious scholars, art historians and other specialists.

Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use for history.
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book reviews and dissertations that cover world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in "America: History and Life"). Includes publications from 1953-present.
Art Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use for art.
Offers abstracts of journals, museum bulletins and yearbooks in the fields of art, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Covers abstracts from 1929-present, full-text articles 1997-present.
ATLA Religion Database + ATLA Serials (American Theological Library Association)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use for religion.
Provides online access to the entire core collection of more than fifty significant scholarly journals in the field of religion. Also provides citation information for journal articles, book reviews and essays for over 600 journals in the fields of religion and theology. Covers 1949-present.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles in the fields of architectural history, city planning, interior design, historic preservation and archaeology.

Area Studies Indexes
Africa-Wide
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes multi-disciplinary information on Africa including essays in books, journal articles, and more. Some materials are in full-text.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, anthologies, and essay collections on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia.
Index Islamicus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, and book reviews.
Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas (PRISMA)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of Hispanic studies, from research on indigenous cultures past and present to the arts, history, politics, and society. Includes scholarship written in English as well as in Spanish.