Research Guides: LING 250: Tone and Stress (HC): Finding Articles & Dissertations

Finding Articles and Dissertations

Begin your search with the relevant subject-specific or multidisciplinary databases (listed below), using many of the same search tips that you would use to find additional books. To search many journal databases at once, use Tripod Articles. To identify subject-specific databases not listed below, use Research Guides.

Once you have found relevant resources, use the button to get full-text copies the articles.

A separate window will open with links either to a digital copy of the article, a locally available print copy, or an Article Delivery request form for ordering material not held by the tri-college libraries. To request items not held locally, simply enter your name and barcode and submit the request.

LLBA: Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts of the world's literature in linguistics and language-related research, including journal articles, books, book reviews, dissertations and some conference proceedings. Covers all aspects of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology,syntax and semantics. Includes historical, comparative, theoretical and social linguistics and related disciplines such as anthropology, education, and ethnology. Covers 1973-present.
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.
Project Muse journals
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find multidisciplinary scholarly articles (sciences, social sciences, and humanities). Citation searching also allows search for highly cited articles and books.

Other Online Search Tools

Use these resources to find additional information on languages, including bibliographies on individual languages.

OLAC: Open Language Archives Community This link opens in a new window
The LINGUIST List is operated at Indiana University, Department of Linguistics. The aim of the list is to provide a forum where academic linguists can discuss linguistic issues and exchange linguistic information.

World Atlas of Language Structures Online

Ethnologue
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains information on the world's over 7000 known living languages. Includes alternate names, dialects, number of speakers, multilingualism, demographic and sociolinguistic information when known. Includes country index with maps, language names index, language codes and language families index.
- Haverford and Swarthmore have access to all Ethnologue content via a subscription; Bryn Mawr has limited free page views to full content.

Searching for Dissertations

Search the LLBA (Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts) to find dissertations on specific languages.

Use the tips for keywords searching. From the advanced search screen, use the dropdown menu to limit your search by words in the title. Below the search boxes, check the box next to Dissertations & Theses.

LLBA: Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts of the world's literature in linguistics and language-related research, including journal articles, books, book reviews, dissertations and some conference proceedings. Covers all aspects of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology,syntax and semantics. Includes historical, comparative, theoretical and social linguistics and related disciplines such as anthropology, education, and ethnology. Covers 1973-present.