Research Guides: LING 250: Tone and Stress (HC): Finding Books

Finding Books

Use TRIPOD to find books and other material owned by the Tri-College libraries.

Use WorldCat to find books not held by the Tri-College libraries.

In order to find books in either catalog, conduct either a relevant:

Keyword Search:

E.g., (tone OR stress) AND linguistics

(tone OR stress OR intonation) AND grammar

(See the Search Tips tab for more information on how to construct keyword searches.)

Or Subject Search:

E.g., Tone (Phonetics)

Accents and accentuation

Phonetics

Creole dialects

Zapotec language—Grammar

Japanese language—Phonology

(Use the Browse Books & More link to find additional subject headings.)

Tripod: Books & More
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The library catalog of Bryn Mawr, Haverford and Swarthmore Colleges. Use Tripod Books and More to find relevant books, journals, dissertations, films, and other material owned by the tri-college libraries. Click on the "request" button at the bottom of an item's record to have it delivered to Magill or another library.

WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.

Borrowing Beyond the Tri-Co
Request items that are not available in Tripod through E-ZBorrow or Interlibrary Loan. Note that E-Z Borrow is the first place to look for books not in Tripod. It usually takes just three days for E-Z Borrow books to arrive. Books not in E-Z Borrow can come from Interlibrary Loan (ILL) which may take as little as four or five days to arrive.

For journal articles not available in the three colleges, use the Article Delivery form. In around 3 days you will receive a digital copy of the requested articles in your email.

Other Online Search Tools

Use these resources to find additional information on languages, including bibliographies on individual languages.

OLAC: Open Language Archives Community This link opens in a new window
The LINGUIST List is operated at Indiana University, Department of Linguistics. The aim of the list is to provide a forum where academic linguists can discuss linguistic issues and exchange linguistic information.

World Atlas of Language Structures Online

Ethnologue
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains information on the world's over 7000 known living languages. Includes alternate names, dialects, number of speakers, multilingualism, demographic and sociolinguistic information when known. Includes country index with maps, language names index, language codes and language families index.
- Haverford and Swarthmore have access to all Ethnologue content via a subscription; Bryn Mawr has limited free page views to full content.

Selected Books on Tone and Stress

A Survey of Word Accentual Patterns in the Languages of the World
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9783110198966
Publication Date: 2010-12-15
In this volume, there is an introductory chapter (Chapter 1) that will provide the reader with elementary terminology and theoretical tools to understand the variety of accentual systems that will be discussed in the subsequent chapters of this book. Chapter 2 has a double function. It presents an overview of stress patterns in Australian languages, but at the same time it is intended to (re-)familiarize readers with the coding, terminology and theoretical ideas of the StressTyp database. Chapter 11 presents statistical and typological information from the StressTyp database. Part II of this volume contains 'language profiles' which are, for each of the 511 languages contained in StressTyp (in 2009), extracts from the information that is contained in the database.
The Structure of Tone by Zhiming Bao
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0195118804
Publication Date: 1999-05-20
This book argues a fresh theory about the structure of tone. Bao investigates a wide range of tone sandhi data from various Chinese dialects and other Asian tone languages, providing empirical support for his proposal that tone is a formal entity which consists of register and contour. Baoestablishes a clear typological distinction between register tone languages and contour tone languages whose contour tones have a more complex structure.
A Course in Phonetics by Peter Ladefoged; Keith Johnson
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781428231269
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
In this comprehensive introduction to phonetics, Peter Ladefoged and Keith Johnson present the main concepts and branches of phonetics. You will learn how speech is produced, how to describe speech in acoustic terms, and how to use practical phonetic skills.
An Essay on Stress by Morris Halle; Jean-Roger Vergnaud
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0262081687
Publication Date: 1987-11-01