Research Guides: HIST 001M: History of Food (SC): Searching Historical Newspapers & Magazines

Online Databases for Historical Newspapers & Periodicals (United States)

These are just a handful of online databases for historical newspapers, magazines, and periodicals. Want more recommendations? Talk to reference librarian Simon Elichko - selichk1@swarthmore.edu.

Newspapers

ProQuest News & Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Use this link to search through digitized issues of the following newspapers, among others. You can find articles from the years listed in parentheses:
• Chicago Tribune‎ (1849 - 1991) • Los Angeles Times‎ (1881 - 1991) • The New York Times‎ (1851 - 2011) • New York Tribune‎ (1841 - 1922) • Philadelphia Tribune‎ (1912 - 2001) • The Wall Street Journal‎ (1889 - 1997) • The Washington Post‎ (1877 - 1998)

NewspaperArchive.com
- This link opens in a new window
NewspaperARCHIVE.com contains tens of millions of newspaper pages from 1607 to present. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword and date, making it easy for you to quickly explore historical content. (from the website)

Browse the publications available by state and country
America's Historical Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Extensive database for searching scanned newspapers from 1690-1922
Access World News
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from 8,000+ newspapers around the world. Particularly useful for researching 1990s-present.

Magazines

Periodicals Index Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Useful for finding relevant articles from magazines and historical periodicals from 1700s-present. (You won't find full article PDFs in here. Use the FindIt button to get the article, or ask a librarian.)
Readers' Guide Retrospective
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search popular magazines in the US from the 20th century. This is just an index, so find full-text articles by using FindIt, Tripod, or asking a librarian.
American Periodicals Series Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search through American magazines, trade journals, and popular publications published during the 1700s-early 1900s. Includes a wide range of types of publications aimed at different audiences. Articles are available for download as PDFs.
LGBTQ+ Source
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find articles published in LGBTQ+ magazines and newspapers from 1950s-present. Also some academic journals. (You won't usually find PDFs in here. Go to Access Options and select FindIt to look up the article in Tripod.)

More resources

PressReader
- This link opens in a new window
Use PressReader to view current magazines and newspapers online. Provides online access to over 5,000 local, regional and international newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 languages.
Best finding for recent articles
Archives of Sexuality & Gender
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 covers topics including LGBTQ activism and the HIV/AIDS crisis. Using this database, you can look through periodicals created by LGBTQ+ activist groups.
African American Periodicals 1825-1995
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search through 170 periodicals by and about African Americans, including academic and political journals, magazines, newsletters, literary journals, annual reports of organizations, and other genres. Includes publications from 25 states and Washington, DC.
This collection is based upon James P. Danky's African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography (Harvard, 1998).
LGBTQ+ Source
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from 120+ LGBTQ magazines, journals, and regional newspapers (1950-present)
Alternative Press Index and Alternative Press Archive
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Identify articles on topics published in left-wing magazines, journals, and other publications. Searches for articles from 1969-present.

Print periodicals?

Although many newspapers and magazines are scanned and available online, sometimes you can look at the print versions in McCabe.

Curious if you can see a certain publication in print? Search Tripod!

For example:

New Yorker

McCabe has print copies going back to 1933
Recent copies: Popular Reading Room (main level)
Older copies: Periodicals shelves (lower level)