Lets you search and browse through digital versions of letters, diaries, and other primary source documents. Covers a range of topics and includes Africa, the Americans, Australasia, Oceania and South Asia. Includes documents published between 1492-1969.
Browse menus from restaurants, cafes, train dining cars, hotels, and other establishments from across the US, from the 1800s to the present. To search for menus in a particular state or city, enclose the name in double quotes, e.g. search for "Georgia" rather than Georgia. Or search for a particular ingredient or dish (e.g. "kale") to find examples of this food served throughout US history.
The Cornell University Libraries have digitized hundreds of home economics and cooking textbooks, ranging from the early 19th century through the late 20th century. You can browse these texts by date or title, or search for particular topics.
Louis Szathmary (1919–1996) was a Hungarian-born chef, restaurateur, and food writer, best known as proprietor of The Bakery restaurant in Chicago. Szathmary amassed one of the largest culinary archives in the United States, a portion of which is housed at the University of Iowa Libraries. This collection includes more than 130 promotional recipe pamphlets from food companies, appliance manufacturers, and trade associations. (1880-1939)
DIY History offers another way to access the Szathmary collection of primary sources on American culinary history. Browse through the scanned documents, or run some searches (e.g. this search for "mushroom") to find out which cookbook or manuscript might have referenced your ingredient.
Browse or search through thousands of advertisements, ranging from magazine ads to photographs of billboards. Duke University Libraries' collections include many advertisements related to food, nutrition, and cooking. (For example, search for advertisements that mention milk and then sort your results by date.)
Search through and read articles from historic American magazines and journals published between 1741-1941. Includes many trade journals, farmers' publications, popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal, and scientific journals such as Medical Repository. Search through the full text of articles, view the article in its context on the page, and narrow your search results by location, time period, and more.
Browse full-text government documents, reports, and journals. Under the "Subjects" tab, try clicking on "Food and Agriculture" to browse documents relating to everything from breweries to poultry. (Provides full-text of all reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives from 1817-1994.)
Provides information on, and access to, digitized versions of primary-source collections on American history and culture, including photographs, documents, sound recordings, and motion pictures. This site can be a bit tricky to use, as some of the collections linked to are not available online. But many interesting primary source documents can be found through American Memory. For example, try searching for "pork" and browsing everything from early advertising for meat-packing plants to a newspaper editorial about soldiers returning from the Civil War.
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000
This resource provides documents pertaining to women and social movements. Includes document projects that interpret and present documents to address a question or a scholarly debate. Also includes images, a dictionary of social movements, a chronology and teaching tools. Covers the 17th century to the 21st century.
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
Offers full-text access to some English-language journals, newspapers, manuscripts, ephemera, and more published between 1801 and 1900. Much of the materials in Nineteenth Century Collections Online come from England, but the collection "Women: Transnational Networks" includes primary source materials relating to everyday life in the US during the 19th century.
Contains data on over 60,000 global publicly-traded companies and over 1,000,000 domestic and international private companies. Contains biographies on over 200,000 corporate executives. Also includes: earnings estimates from Thomson First Call; equity research reports with analyst recommendations; institutional holdings and insider transaction data; up to 35 years of adjusted and unadjusted end-of-day equity pricing data; Historical information on security pricing dating back to 1925. Updated daily.
President's Dining Car Menu, 1890
This menu (and many others) can be found on the website for the New York Public Library's What's on the Menu project.