Research Guides: LING 215: The Structure of Colonial Valley Zapotec (HC): Colonial Oaxaca

Colonial Oaxacan History, Culture, & Religion

A Fuego y Sangre: Early Zapotec Imperialism in the Cuicatlán Cañada, Oaxaca by Elsa M. Redmond; Joyce Marcus (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0932206972
Publication Date: 1983-01-01
Cultural Politics in Colonial Tehuantepec: Community and State Among the Isthmus Zapotec, 1500-1750 by Judith Francis Zeitlin
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0804733880
Publication Date: 2005-08-19
This book is a historical and archeological examination of the Isthmus Zapotec state, which was established at Tehuantepec in late pre-hispanic times through a campaign of conquest and colonization, and the responses that its descendant populations made to the complex political, economic, and cultural changes introduced by Spanish colonialism. Using complementary archival and archeological sources, the book details the transformation of Isthmus Zapotec society under colonialism and the enduring structures through which its members redefined their political autonomy.
Indians, Merchants, and Markets: A Reinterpretation of the Repartimiento and Spanish-Indian Economic Relations in Colonial Oaxaca, 1750-1821 by Jeremy Baskes
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0804735123
Publication Date: 2000-12-01
Examining repartimiento production of cochineal, a dyestuff produced exclusively by Oaxacan Indians and representing Mexico's most valued export after silver, this study shows that Indians produced cochineal for the market voluntarily because it provided them with needed income. Overall, the book demonstrates that Mexican Indians were much more actively engaged in the market than customarily imagined, and were adept at promoting their interests despite the discriminating policies of colonialism.
Mixtecs, Zapotecs, and Chatinos by Arthur A. Joyce
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780631209775
Publication Date: 2009-12-14
Mixtecs, Zapotecs, and Chatinos: Ancient Peoples of Southern Mexico examines the origins, history, and interrelationships of the civilizations that arose and flourished in Oaxaca. Provides an up-to-date summary of the current state of research findings and archaeological evidence. Uses contemporary social theory to address many key problems relating to archaeology of the Americas, including the dynamics of social life and the rise and fall of civilizations. Adds clarity to ongoing debates over cultural change and interregional interactions in ancient Mesoamerican societies. Supplemented with compelling illustrations, photographs, and line drawings of various archaeological sites and artifacts
Now We Are Civilized: A Study of the World View of the Zapotec Indians of Mitla, Oaxaca by Leslie, Charles M.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Art of Being In-Between: Native Intermediaries, Indian Identity, and Local Rule in Colonial Oaxaca by Yanna P. Yannakakis
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780822341420
Publication Date: 2008-06-25
Rethinks the processes of cultural change and indigenous resistance and accommodation to colonial rule through a focus on the Sierra Norte of Oaxaca, a rugged, mountainous, ethnically diverse, and overwhelmingly indigenous region of colonial Mexico. Tells the story of the making of colonialism at the edge of empire through the eyes of native intermediary figures: indigenous governors clothed in Spanish silks, priests, assistants, interpreters, economic middlemen, legal agents, landed nobility, and Indian conquistadors.
The Cloud People: divergent evolution of the Zapotec and Mixtec civilizations by Kent V. Flannery (Editor); Joyce Marcus (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0122598601
Publication Date: 1983-04-01

A more recent (2003) edition of this text is also available.
The Mixtecs in Ancient and Colonial Times by Ronald M. Spores
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0806118849
Publication Date: 1985-04-01
The Mixtecs of Colonial Oaxaca by Kevin Terraciano
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0804737568
Publication Date: 2002-12-01
This book is a history of the Mixtec Indians of southern Mexico, who in their own language call themselves Tay Ñudzahui, "people of the rain place." These people were among the most populous cultural and language groups of Mesoamerica at the time of the Spanish conquest. This study focuses on several dozen Mixtec communities in the region of Oaxaca during the period from about 1540 to 1750. The work is largely based on an extraordinary collection of primary sources, translated and analyzed by the author, that were written by Mixtecs in the roman alphabet from the mid-sixteenth to the early nineteenth centuries. To complement this native-language corpus, the author has examined preconquest and early colonial pictorial writings, Spanish-language civil and trial records, and Nahuatl (Aztec) texts.
Zapotec Deviance by Henry A. Selby; Howard S. Becker (Introduction by)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0292798008
Publication Date: 1974-07-01
Zapotecs: Princes, Priests, and Peasants by Joseph W. Whitecotton
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 080611374X
Publication Date: 1977-01-01
Zapotec Renaissance by Howard Campbell
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0826315372
Publication Date: 1994-12-01
Includes chapters on Zapotec history and politics.

Finding Additional Resources: Books

Tripod: Books & More
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The library catalog of Bryn Mawr, Haverford and Swarthmore Colleges. Use Tripod Books and More to find relevant books, journals, dissertations, films, and other material owned by the tri-college libraries. Click on the "request" button at the bottom of an item's record to have it delivered to Magill or another library.

Use TRIPOD to find books and other material owned by the Tri-College libraries.

Use WorldCat to find books not held by the Tri-College libraries.

In order to find books in either catalog, conduct either a relevant:

Keyword Search:

E.g., zapotec* AND history

"colonial oaxaca*"

(See the Search Tips tab for more information on how to construct keyword searches.)

Or Subject Search:

E.g., Zapotec language—Grammar

Oaxaca Valley (Mexico)—History

Oaxaca Valley (Mexico)—History [WorldCat]

(Use the Browse Books & More link to find additional subject headings.)

WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.

Borrowing Beyond the Tri-Co
Request items that are not available in Tripod through E-ZBorrow or Interlibrary Loan. Note that E-Z Borrow is the first place to look for books not in Tripod. It usually takes just three days for E-Z Borrow books to arrive. Books not in E-Z Borrow can come from Interlibrary Loan (ILL) which may take as little as four or five days to arrive.

For journal articles not available in the three colleges, use the Article Delivery form. In around 3 days you will receive a digital copy of the requested articles in your email.

Finding Additional Resources: Articles and Dissertations

Begin your search with the relevant subject-specific or multidisciplinary databases (listed below), using many of the same search tips that you would use to find additional books. To search many journal databases at once, use Tripod Articles. To identify subject-specific databases not listed below, use Research Guides.

Once you have found relevant resources, use the button to get full-text copies the articles.

A separate window will open with links either to a digital copy of the article, a locally available print copy, or an Article Delivery request form for ordering material not held by the tri-college libraries. To request items not held locally, simply enter your name and barcode and submit the request.

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to scholarly journal articles published in Latin America, Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean, and to materials that address this region and U.S. Hispanic topics. Covers political, economic, and social issues. Some citations link to full-text articles. Covers 1970-present.
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a selective annotated bibliography of scholarly books, journal articles, and other resources dealing with Latin America. Curated by the Library of Congress’ Hispanic Division.
Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book reviews and dissertations that cover world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in "America: History and Life"). Includes publications from 1953-present.
Swarthmore has access to the full text.
Clase & Periodica
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to Latin American and Caribbean journal articles, books, essays, book reviews, conference proceedings, technical reports, and interviews in the social sciences, humanities, science and technology fields. Covers 1975-present.
Project Muse journals
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.