This collection is comprised of the single bound volume. The original account was written in 1798 &
1799. This copy, in an unknown hand, was likely written in the latter half of the 19th century. The volume describes Isaac Coates, Joshua Sharpless, and John Pierce's travel to Native American reservations on behalf of the Philadelphia Yearly Meeting Indian Committee, and the work they did while there.
This collection is comprised of the single volume of Pugh's journal, entitled, "On his visit to the Western
Indians." The first pages of the volume provide records of destinations and the miles traveled, as well as a list of names and their title/position or affiliation with a certain organization or tribe. Also lists tribal populations according to the most recent census data. Entries describe Pugh's travel from St. Louis to Lawrence, Kansas, Quaker meetings attended, meetings with Indian agents and officials, and visits to tribes and make payments.
Alfred Cope, Minutes of a Council Meeting, 1849
Ms. Coll. 1013B: Minutes taken by Alfred Cope at a council with the Menominee Indians in 1849 in Greenbay WI, at which Thomas Wistar served as commissioner to distribute $40,000 of givernment money. See also Record of apportionment, 1849, in Ms. Coll. 1013C.
This collection is comprised of the two volume family history and autobiography of Barclay White.
In addition to Providing genealogical information about his ancestors, White describes his early life in Philadelphia, Pa., and his work with various Native tribes as an Indian Agent.
Ms. Coll. 958: Extracts from a journal, 1809, of a tour to Tunesassa and Cattaraugus by William Allinson, giving interesting details of travel and life among the Indians, their reservations on the Allegheny River, and the prehistoric remains of a people who lived in this section more than 2000 years ago.
The diary details Emlen's travels in rural Pennsylvania to small towns and settlements of fellow Quakers. Entries often describe tensions and interactions between the white settlers and the Native American populations. Treaties between white settlers and native groups are also discussed.
Morris's journal was written for her family at home during her trip to Canada during August and September, 1889. Her daily entries describes, in detail, her experiences camping in the
Canadian wilderness, accompanied by her cousins and the Indians they have employed to paddle them in canoes to and from each campsite, as well as interactions with Indians the group meets during their travels.
Each volume contains business correspondence related to Richards' work as an Indian Agent in Kansas. All letters are written by John Richards, and the majority of letters are addressed to Enoch Hoag, the Superintendent of Indian Affairs
Joseph Samson, Journal of a tour to the treaty of Newtown Point, in the summer of 1791
Ms. Coll. 1008: Contains an account of journey with John Parrish to witness signing of treaty with Indians at Newtown Point, on the Tioga.
Five volumes of Thomas Wistar's journals. Each volume includes daily entries interspersed with correspondence. Journal entries largely describe Wistar’s work as an Indian Commissioner, including visits to Washington D.C. and various trips to Indian Reservations, and Indian Agencies including the Seneca Nation and the Wichita Indian Agency.
This collection is composed of the single volume diary of Joel Swayne entitled, “Some account of my journey to the Seneca Nation of Indians and Residence Amongst that People.” Entries describe Swayne’s journey to the Seneca nation, and the two years he spent there. Swayne provides detailed descriptions of the chief, “Cornplanter,” the chief’s family, the village and villagers, cultural differences between the Quakers and the Senecas, the difficulty of the language barrier, and discussions between Quaker missionaries and Seneca members.
Call Number: H Special Collections Rare Books E98.M6 B8 1811
Publication Date: Newark, N.J., Printed by John Austin Crane, 1811
Biography of David Brainerd by evangelical theologian Jonathan Edwards, first published in 1749. Taken from Brainerd's own diary, but substantially changed by Edwards. The work was a major influence on the domestic and foreign missionary movement of the 18th and 19th centuries. (Not Quaker).
Call Number: H Special Collections Quaker Collection BX7644.J13 H188
Publication Date: [Philadelphia, 1952
From 1798 to 1800 Halladay Jackson joined the Quaker mission to the Seneca Indians organized by the Indian Committee of Philadelphia Yearly Meeting. The Quaker settlement was located at Geneshunguhta on the Allegheny River in New York State, just north of the Pennsylvania border.
Call Number: H Special Collections Quaker Collection Call Number Status BX7731.D55 S5 1945
Publication Date: New Haven, Conn. : London : Printed for the Yale university Press ; 1945
Jonathan Dickinson was a Quaker merchant from Port Royal, Jamaica who was shipwrecked on the southeast coast of Florida in 1696, along with his family and the other passengers and crew members of the ship. The party was held captive by Jaega Indians for several days, and then was allowed to travel by small boat and on foot the 230 miles up the coast to Saint Augustine and then by canoe to Charles Town, where they were able to find passage to their original destination, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. First published in 1699 as God's protecting providence: man's surest help and defence, in times of the greatest difficulty, and most eminent danger.
Call Number: H Special Collections Quaker Rare Books BX7730.B315 O2
Publication Date: London : Printed for J. Whiston and B. White, 1751
Bartram and Lewis Evans accompanied Conrad Weiser on a mission from the government of Pennsylvania to the Iropuois, to settle a quarrel between the Indians and the colony of Virginia. Weiser's journal is printed in the set known as Colonial records of Pennsylvania, 1851, v. 4, p. 660-669.
Call Number: H Special Collections Quaker Collection BX7644.E53 J86 c.2
Emlen was one of four Philadelphia Friends who attended the treaty between the United States and the Iroquois Six Nations. Two others of the delegation also kept journals, William Savery and David Bacon.
Call Number: H Special Collections Quaker Rare Books BX7797.2.I3 P85
Publication Date: London, Printed for J. Wilkie, 1759
The journal extends from October 25, 1758, to January 10, 1759. The account of Post's first journey is to be found in "An enquiry into the causes of the alienations of the Delaware and Shawanese Indians from the British interest..." by Charles Thomson, published in London in 1759. Both journals were reprinted in Rupp's "Early history of western Pennsylvania," 1846, app., p.75-126. Occasional references to Indian policy of Pennsylvania Quakers prior to 1755.