Native American Resources in Haverford College Special Collections (HC)

Ms. Coll. 968: Papers of the Allinson and related families, including 38 miscellaneous items concerning Native Americans, 1758-1932 (box 8) and William Allinson's Journal describing visit to tribes in New York State in 1809 (box 11).

Ms. Coll. 851: The collection is composed chiefly of letter of members of the Society of Friends in the United States from the 17th to the 20th centuries.

Ms. Coll. 861: Letters of English Friends containing information on Quaker history and throwing light on religious and cultural activities.

The majority of this collection is comprised of the handwritten copies of speeches made by Native American leaders, as well as a single letter addressed to "Friends residing among the Indians." Though the materials are undated, they likely date to the 1790s-1810s, and the majority of the speeches make mention of the Seneca tribe, and refer to the Seneca leader, Cornplanter.

Ms. Coll. 955: Collection of material of the Smith and Atwater families. Includes papers pertaining to the Emlen Institution, endowed by Samuel Emlen for educating African Americans and Native Americans, ca.1837-1848. Also five items from the late 18th century concerning treaties and other matters between the whites and the Cherokee and Delaware Native American tribes.

Ms. Coll. 1034: This collection includes correspondence, financial papers, and an account book. The papers touch on the work of Native American agents, the transportation of tribes to the reserves, the progress and politics of getting Native legislation through Congress, and troubles at various Native American Agencies.

Ms. Coll. 1104: These papers include letterpress copies of letters, divided into three categories:
1. Letters to the Commissioner of Indian Affairs in Washington
2. Letters to the Indian Agents under the jurisdiction of Hoag
3. Letters characterized as "individual letters."
Within this correspondence, the subjects of the murder of the Chief of Wichitas by the Osage and the murder of four Osage by, allegedly, the Kansas militia most stand out.

Ms. Coll. 903: This compilation includes letters, minutes, clippings, photographs, and other miscellaneous papers, the bulk of which are related to Garrett's affiliation with the Associated Executive Committee of Friends on Indian Affairs.

Ms. Coll. 1198: A thorough account of the life of John Letchworth, as detailed through his letters and journal entries. Letchworth accompanied Isaac Pennock in 1819 to visit Meetings and several tribes of Native Americans, via Tunesassa in New York all the way to Kentucky.

Ms. Coll. 964: Letters, invoices, vouchers, account book and other financial records related to his work as Agent at Wichita, Kansas from 1870-1876. Richards was appointed an Indian Agent for the Wichitas and affiliated bands at Wichita, Kansas in 1870 and served until 1876. Richards was also appointed under the Peace Policy, turning over management of the Central Superintendency to the Orthodox branch of the Society of Friends, adopted by President Grant. The Central Superintendency included the entire area of Kansas and the Native Territory.

MC-975-11-056

Ms. Coll. 1022: This collections comprises letters to and from the Quaker Marmaduke Cooper Cope (1804-1897) of the prominent Philadelphia Cope family. Cope spent time visiting various agencies in the Native Territory (now Oklahoma) with James E. Rhoads and helped to organize the Institute for Colored Youth in Philadelphia.

An assemblage of papers belong to Rayner W. Kelsey and Naomi Kelsey, containing correspondence, a diary, and sermons. Rayner W. Kelsey was an authority on Quakers and Native Americans, authoring the book Friends and the Indians, 1655-1917 in 1917.

Ms. Coll. 966: Papers related to Nicholas Waln and the Waln family. Includes documentation of the appointment of Thomas Wistar as Indian Commissioner by Presidents Andrew Johnson and Zachary Taylor and a photograph of Wistar with Sac, Fox and Kiowa tribes taken in ca. 1866 by Alexander Gardner.

Ms. Coll. 1036: A collection of personal and business correspondence, along with other papers, of Israel Pemberton (1715-1779), James Pemberton (1723-1809) and John Pemberton (1727-1795). Israel Pemberton's correspondence is noteworthy for discussing the matters of the “Friendly Association for the Regaining and Preserving Peace with the Indians by Pacific Measures."

Ms. Coll. 1108: A compilation of notes, extracts and transcripts from primary and secondary sources related to American colonial history and Pennsylvania agricultural history of the colonial and early Federal periods. Rayner Kelsey served on and was later chairman of the Associated Executive Committee of Friends on Indian Affairs.

"Friends and the Osages," a history of Friends' relations with the Osage tribe from 1842 to 1957, written by Ruthanna Simms.

Primarily the letters of the Quaker Scattergood family detailing daily life in the Philadelphia area and
touching on issues of dress, there is a also a letter of Joseph Scattergood from Tunesassa, NY in telling
of his work with Corn Planter's Native Americans. As well there is a diary kept by Ann Sellers from
1853-1856 and a cookbook, circa 1800.

Ms. Coll. 1111: A collection of letters, accounts, and diary entries of members of the inter-related Sharpless and Kite families. Of greatest note, Joshua Sharpless engaged in religious travels and visits to Pennsylvania, New York, New England and Canada, maintaining an active concern for Native American affairs and abolition.

Ms, Coll. 1113: This collection provides account of the Smiley brothers involvement in Native American affairs: In 1883, Quakers Albert Keith Smiley and his brother Daniel Smiley organized the first annual conference to discuss assistance to Native Americans at their estate at Lake Mohonk in New York state. These conferences were widely attended by specialists in various fields, as well as important officials.

Ms, Coll. 1168: This collection includes papers and photographs of Quaker Theodore Hetzel, a professor of engineering at Haverford College in Haverford, Pa., whose interests led him to involvement with Native American and Quaker issues.

Ms. Coll. 1188: Papers of the Wistar family, especially concentrating on the work among Native Americans in the Central and Northern Superintendency of Indian Commissioner Thomas Wistar (1798-1876) in the mid-19th century.

Ms. Coll. 1321: This collection includes correspondence, diaries, scrapbooks, and deeds primarily of the Philadelphia philanthropist Thomas Wistar Brown, but also of his father, mother, wife, and other relatives. T. Wistar Brown was a member of the Indian Rights Association (1912-1916), as well as a supporter of the Associated Executive Committee of Friends on Indian Affairs.

Ms. Coll. 1167: This collection includes papers concerning the members of the Vaux family. Of distinct relevance are the papers particular to George Vaux VIII, who was appointed to the Board of Indian Commissioners in 1906 by President Theodore Roosevelt and served as manager for the Institute for Colored Youth for 45 years. George IX, his son, also held the position of Treasurer of The Emlen Institution for the Benefit of Persons of African and Indian Descent.

Ms. Coll. 1217: In this collection of maps, photographs, letters and other documents, of note are original Department of Interior documents, first-hand written accounts, and correspondence. Also, of great importance are the land surveys, which provide valuable information from the early 1920s regarding the health, education, population, and land ownership of Native Americans.

This collection is comprised of the handwritten correspondence and a handwritten copy of the manuscript
"Some Account of my Journey Among the Seneca" by Halliday Jackson.