Finding and (Re)Using Digital Images and Media

Online materials from the collections of International Federation of Film Archives affiliates.

Digitized collection from the Prelinger Archives of film ephemera including advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur film and video, made available through the Internet Archive.

A digital lab at Dartmouth College directed by Prof. Mark Williams that enables researcher access to archival moving image collections and contribution of critical analysis back to the archival and research communities.

Digitized collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access, the library covers over 1.3 million pages, and that number is growing.

Free movies, films, and videos. This library contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.

The Television News Archive collection at Vanderbilt University is the world’s most extensive and complete archive of television news. The collection holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC’s Nightline since 1989. These special reports and periodic news broadcasts cover presidential press conferences and political campaign coverage, and national and international events. (Subscription required)