Research Guides: PSYC Senior Thesis & Research Project (SC): Finding Journal Articles

Resources

Look for the button and click on it to see if you can get online access to the citation's article. If Swarthmore does not have access to the online article, you will be given the option to check Tripod for print access, or it will populate an InterLibrary Loan request form for you.

If you are planning to do any research off-campus, you will need to log in to EZ-PROXY, which is Swarthmore's proxy server. Once you have logged in through the proxy server, your access to IP-linked resources will be allowed.

PsycINFO
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journals, books, book chapters, technical reports and dissertations. Areas covered include psychology and related disciplines, sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology. Covers 1887-present.

Need REVIEW articles? Under the search boxes on the ADVANCED search screen is a METHODOLOGY box with several options. Select the LITERATURE REVIEW option.
Includes PsycARTICLES journals.

PsycARTICLES
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to articles from journals published by APA and allied organizations since 1988. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.

PsychiatryOnline
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search the DSM-5 library, The American Journal of Psychiatry, book chapters, journal articles, and assessment tools.
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database can be searched by subject, author, and journal title. Articles that CITE a known author or work can also be searched. Cited reference searching helps identify more recent articles on the same topic. Coverage for the Science Citation Index in WofS goes back to 1900. Works seamlessly with Endnote Web for organizing & formatting your citations!

Need REVIEW articles? Run your search. On the results page, go to the REFINE RESULT in the left column. Scroll down to DOCUMENT TYPE and select REVIEW, then select the REFINE button.
PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Free database of biomedical and related life and behavioral sciences journal articles. Includes MEDLINE index and links to PubMed Central open access articles when available.

ScienceDirect
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text,online access to journal articles in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. The library now is 'subscribing' to most Elsevier journals on a PER ARTICLE basis. So if you find an article you would like to read, press the PURCHASE button. BUT - check GOOGLE SCHOLAR first, as you might find a FREE version of the article in a university or college archive!

Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GS often digs up good stuff that the other databases don't. So use this in ADDITION to the databases listed above. Use the 'Check Tripod' and 'Find it @ Swarthmore' links to see if have access to full-text. And use the "Cited By" link to see who has cited the reference.

Tip: If we don't have access to an article you are looking for, get in the habit of running articles titles through GS (using "quotes" so the title is searched as a PHRASE) before requesting an article from InterLibrary Loan - it's amazing how many times you can turn up the full text of an article, even without a subscription!

Annual Review of Psychology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews critically reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide researchers to the principal contributions of their field and help them keep up to date in their area of research. Each article is its own search engine, providing a gateway to the essential primary research literature referenced within each topic.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Psychology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides thorough introductions to topics in psychology and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in the field. Browse to the psychology subject and use the search box to find articles by keyword (tip: check "Search within my subject" before running your search.)