Analysis and Interpretation of Ethnographic Data by
This is Book 5 of 7 in the Ethnographer's Toolkit, Second Edition. Treating analysis as both a mechanical and a cognitive process, Book 5 begins by describing why analysis and interpretation of data are necessary. In the first two chapters the book points out the importance of beginning ethnographic analysis in the field, during the earliest stages of data collection, and how to move between induction and deduction, the concrete and the abstract, in a process informed by an emerging and increasingly refined conceptual model. The middle section tackles the challenge of transforming huge piles of text, audio, and visual information into an ethnographic whole through generic and specific coding and quantification of qualitative data, using multiple extended examples. Chapters show how to use computers in analysis of qualitative data and ways to integrate the results of quantitative and qualitative data into a comprehensive picture of a complex whole. Chapter 9 presents a rare and comprehensive description of the statistics regularly used by ethnographers to analyze ethnographic surveys. Chapters 10 and 11 show how researchers create and then fine-tune preliminary results into an integrated whole, display them for multiple audiences, and write them up. The final chapter illustrates how ethnographers can share the meaning of results with local communities and constituents and with other professional researchers. Other books in the set: Book 1: Designing and Conducting Ethnographic Research: An Introduction, Second Edition by Margaret D. LeCompte and Jean J. Schensul 9780759118690 Book 2: Initiating Ethnographic Research: A Mixed Methods Approach by Stephen L. Schensul, Jean J. Schensul, and Margaret D. LeCompte 9780759122017 Book 3: Essential Ethnographic Methods: A Mixed Methods Approach, Second Edition by Jean J. Schensul and Margaret D. LeCompte 9780759122031 Book 4: Specialized Ethnographic Methods: A Mixed Methods Approach edited by Jean J. Schensul and Margaret D. LeCompte 9780759122055 Book 6: Ethics in Ethnography: A Mixed Methods Approach by Margaret D. LeCompte and Jean J. Schensul 9780759122093 Book 7: Ethnography in Action: A Mixed Methods Approach by Jean J. Schensul and Margaret D. LeCompte 9780759122116
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Performing Qualitative Cross-Cultural Research by
Cross-cultural research is rife with ethical and methodological challenges but, despite the increased demand for such research, discussions on 'culturally sensitive methodologies' are still largely neglected. Consequently, researchers often find themselves faced with difficulties but lack information on how to deal with them. This text provides an in-depth discussion on how to perform qualitative research in cross-cultural contexts with an emphasis on a more ethical, sensible and responsible approach. Pranee Liamputtong suggests culturally sensitive and appropriate research methods that would work well with cultural groups. She offers thought-provoking perspectives and diverse cultural examples which will be of value to both novice and experienced cross-cultural researchers. Throughout the volume there are references to the excellent work of many cross-cultural researchers who have paved the way in different social and cultural settings.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
Qualitative Strategies for Ethnocultural Research by
Culture has become one of the most important constructs in contemporary psychology, yet when behavioural and social scientists attempt to research ethnocultural communities, they typically rely on wholly quantitative methods, excluding the richness and vitality that numbers alone cannot convey. This volume presents the state-of-the-art discourse on qualitative methods in psychology and community studies. Geared toward multiple audiences, Qualitative Strategies for Ethnocultural Research provides crucial background on the methodological concepts of qualitative approaches to appeal to undergraduate and graduate students being trained in qualitative methods. Yet it includes a wide range of detailed case examples on innovative qualitative approaches to attract researchers in the behavioural and social sciences. Anyone involved in community-level ethnographic research or psychological intervention programs will benefit from this significant and timely work. The chapters in Part I of this edited volume span an array of methodological issues in qualitative research, with particular attention to studies and interventions in ethnocultural communities that have been marginalised. Part II includes chapters that address specific qualitative research applications. Authors from the United States and abroad provide examples of research dilemmas and recommendations for this and the next generation of qualitative researchers.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
Research Methods in Anthropology (6th ed, 2018) by
Research Methods in Anthropology is the standard textbook for methods classes in anthropology. Written in Russ Bernard's unmistakable conversational style, this guide has launched tens of thousands of students into the fieldwork enterprise with a combination of rigorous methodology, wry humor, and commonsense advice. Whether you are coming from a scientific, interpretive, or applied anthropological tradition, you will learn field methods from the best guide in both qualitative and quantitative methods.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
Understanding Qualitative Research and Ethnomethodology by
The book makes a valuable addition to the field providing a very useful resource for those evaluating, engaging in, or embarking on, research' - "Monika Buscher, Department of Sociology, Lancaster University " This book provides a discussion of qualitative research methods from an ethnomethodological perspective. Detailed yet concise, Paul ten Have's text explores the complex relation between the more traditional methods of qualitative social research and the discipline of ethnomethodology. It draws on examples from both ethnomethodological studies and the wider field of qualitative research to discuss critically an array of methods for qualitative data collection and analysis. Key features of the book include: . A broad coverage - includes discussions of interviewing, the use of documents, ethnography, and methods of data analysis . An understanding of different research traditions and illustrations of how these may be used in practice . Concise chapter summaries and further reading sections to aid student learning With a student-friendly structure, this engaging book will be an invaluable resource for both students and researchers across the social sciences."
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window