FMST 009: Women and Popular Culture (SC)

This work presents more than 400 A-Z entries on the individuals, programs, media innovations, and broad topics that tell the story of women's involvement both in front of and behind the television camera.

From Amos 'n' Andy to The Jeffersons to Family Matters, this work covers it all. There are entries on all different genres and performers. Additionally, information can be found on general issues, ranging from African American audiences and stereotypes through the related networks and organizations. This book has hundreds of entries, from A to Z, in the dictionary and a list of acronyms with their corresponding definitions.

How did Liberace's costumes kill him? Which lesbian comedian spent her high school years as 'the best white cheerleader in Detroit'? For these answers and many more, fans can dip into this book. Drawn from the fascinating online encyclopaedia of queer arts and culture - www.glbtq.com - this is the only reference book in which RuPaul and Jean Cocteau jostle for space. From the porn industry to the Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence, from body building to Dorothy Arzner, this is an indispensable guide: readable, authoritative and concise.

This three-volume collection reprints two important 1920s/30s books relating to television, and a collection of short articles covering the social, aesthetic and technical aspects of the medium. Items range from 1870s prophecies, experiments and cartoons, to 1930s accounts of the first public broadcasting systems in Britain, Germany, and the USA. The pieces are from newspapers, specialist journals of the period, and popular magazines. Technical articles included are chosen for their accessibility to non-specialists with limited technical knowledge. The selection comments on the progress of television in many parts of the world. The set includes a general introduction by the editor, which places each item in context and provides a comprehensive account of the medium to c.1940.

The Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theoryclearly and accessibly explains the major theoretical approaches now deployed in the study of the moving image, as well as defining key theoretical terms. This dictionary provides readers with the conceptual apparatus to understand the often daunting language and terminology of screen studies. Entries include: *audience * Homi K. Bhabha * black cinema * the body * children and media * commodification * cop shows * deep focus * Umberto Eco * the gaze * Donna Haraway * bell hooks * infotainment * master narrative * medical dramas * morpheme * myth * panopticon * pastiche * pleasure * real time * social realism * sponsorship * sport on television * subliminal * third cinema * virtual reality Consultant Editors: David Black, USA, William Urricchio, University of Utrecht, The Netherlands, Gill Branston, Cardiff University, UK ,Elayne Rapping, USA