Research Guides: MUSI 106: Winds of Pleasure: Hildegard of Bingen (SC): Background

Not sure where to start? The bibliographies linked below provide a brief introduction to Hildegard's life & music as well as the scholarly literature. The Meconi bibliography in particular highlights excellent starting points for research:

Readers needing an article-length introduction to Hildegard’s music have many choices. Bent and Pfau 2010 and McGrade 2002 provide ready summaries in English and German, respectively. Ritscher 1967 presents the traditional and still-influential reading of her compositions. Pfau 1996a and Pfau 1998 are informed by the author’s important analytical researches, the former using the lens of a single composition and the latter spreading a broader net. Pfau 1996b provides a short English-language introduction to Hildegard and her music. The author of Fassler 1998, coming to Hildegard after extensive work in other areas of medieval music, uses that expertise to ground Hildegard contextually. Kreutziger-Herr 1998 confronts the assumptions on which much work has been based.

General arts & humanities databases

Credo Reference
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 500 reference books, encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, books of quotations, etc., in various fields including art, law, literature, social sciences, and technology.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to more than 1,300 arts and humanities journals and to relevant articles on arts and humanities in over 5,800 social science and science journals. Records include articles, bibliographies, editorials and reviews. Covers 1980-present.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.
MLA International Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of scholarly books and articles related to literature, language, linguistics, film, theater and folklore. Includes scholarship from 1926 to the present.
Dissertations & Theses
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage is from 1861 to the present day.