Research Guides: MUSI 106: Winds of Pleasure: Hildegard of Bingen (SC): Subject-specific databases

Medieval Studies Resources: Primary Sources

Epistolae: Medieval Women's Letters
Collection of letters to and from women dating from the 4th to the 13th century AD. These letters from the Middle Ages, written in Latin, are presented with English translations and are organized by the women participating. Biographical sketches of the women and descriptions of the subject matter or the historic context of the letter is included where available.

Internet Medieval Sourcebook
The Sourcebook addresses elite governmental, legal, religious and economic concerns, and also includes a large selection of texts on women's and gender history, Islamic and Byzantine history, Jewish history, and social history. All texts are offered in two formats: the first is short classroom sized extracts; the second is composed of the full documents.

Feminae
Provides abstracts and/or citation information to journal articles, book reviews and essays about women, sexuality and gender in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, from 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E. Covers materials published since 1990.
International Medieval Bibliography Online
Provides abstracts and citations to articles on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the period 450 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Search for scholarly journal articles on the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

ProQuest Music Database
This database, formerly known as "International Index to Music Periodicals" provides abstracts to music titles. Offers articles in full-text for over 80 periodicals. Covers all aspects of music including education, composition, theory and ethnomusicology. Covers 1874-present. Full-text begins in the mid-1990s-present.
ProQuest Performing Arts Database‎
This database, formerly known as "International Index to the Performing Arts" provides abstracts and full-text to journal articles. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry including dance, film, television, theater, opera, and broadcasting. Covers 1864-present.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale)
The premier index for researching in music, describing books, essays, journal articles, dissertations, documentaries, conference proceedings, bibliographies, discographies, concert reviews, recording notes. Most citations include abstracts.

The Music Index
Print index covering 1949-2002. Good to use as a supplement to online indexes for finding materials from the mid 20th-century.