Research Guides: RELG 108: Vocabularies of Islam (HC): Getting Started

Background Materials / Bibliographies

Islamic World
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Good short topical chapter followed by a useful bibliography.

Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides alphabetically-arranged articles on qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur'anic studies.

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim world
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Good survey articles with suggestions for further readings. Published in 2004.

Encyclopedia of Religion
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published in 2005. Note that some of the articles and bibliographies have not been updated since the 1987 edition. Also available in print format. Provides good introductory articles with suggestions for further reading.
Encyclopedia of Islam
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The bibliographies tend to have a number of citations to materials which are not in English. Often to find the article on your subject you have to search by the transliterated term not the English word for your topic.
Oxford Bibliographies in Islamic Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An excellent place to start looking for additional writings on your topic. This source consists of annotated bibliographies on various topic. The entry on each topic start with a very short overview followed by suggestions for further reading on various aspects of the topic. The topics are listed alphabetically. To see a list of all of the topics covered click on the "Learn more about this subject" link in the left boxed column. Then scroll down after the new screen appears.

Encyclopedia of women & Islamic cultures
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Each of the first five volumes have articles selected on particular themes/topics. You can look at the table of contents of each volume and/or check the subject index at the end of volume six to find entries on your topic. Volume six also has some supplementary articles. (first volumes were published in 2003, volume six was published in 2007).
Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This print source is also available online as part of the Oxford Islamic Studies Online.
Encyclopedia of Islam in the United States
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Volume 1 has useful articles with good bibliographies. You may want to look at the "List of Entries by Topic" on page xix to find entries related to your topic.

Search Tips

Note spelling variations (Qur'an or Koran)

Note use of different terms (hijab or veil or head scarf). Different resources may use a different term, so you might have to search by various terms to find information on your topic.

If you find a useful book check the subject headings assigned to that book to find related books.

Indexes

Tripod Articles Search
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles searches millions of journal articles, many of them in full text and available through the Tri-College Libraries. While it doesn't provide access to everything the library has to offer, it is a good starting point for your searches.

ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
You might want to limit your search results to "Scholarly Journals". But also useful for obtaining articles from the popular press.
ATLA Religion Database + ATLA Serials (American Theological Library Association)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the entire core collection of more than fifty significant scholarly journals in the field of religion. Also provides citation information for journal articles, book reviews and essays for over 600 journals in the fields of religion and theology. Covers 1949-present.
Index Islamicus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers citations to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and book reviews from 1906 to present.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.
Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis, find newspaper and magazine articles, news transcripts, reference works, and legal materials, including Supreme Court cases. Includes the New York Times from 1980-present.

Subject Guide

Karen Viars

Email Me

Subjects: Africana & Black Studies, History, Political Science