Provides information on, and access to, digitized versions of primary-source collections on American history and culture, including photographs, documents, sound recordings, and motion pictures.
Archives Unbound
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.
Searches across America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions for photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and more—are free and immediately available in digital format.
A collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the twentieth century.
Sixties: Primary Documents & Personal Narratives, 1960-1974
Provides a searchable collection that brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. With 150,000 pages of material at completion, this searchable collection is the definitive electronic resource for students and scholars researching this important period in American history, culture, and politics.
Women & Social Movements International: 1840 to present
"Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life. This digital archive offers 150,000 pages of conference proceedings, reports of international women's organizations, publications and web pages of women's non-governmental organizations, and letters, diaries, and memoirs of women active internationally since the mid-nineteenth century."
Women & Social Movements in the United States: 1600-2000
This resource provides documents pertaining to women and social movements. Includes document projects that interpret and present documents to address a question or a scholarly debate. Also includes images, a dictionary of social movements, a chronology and teaching tools. Covers the 17th century to the 21st century.
Women's Studies Archive (Gale)
Database of primary sources focusing on the social, political, and professional achievements of women during the 19th-20th centuries.
• Topics include: women's suffrage, reproductive rights, labor activism, pacifism, socialism, mental health, temperance
• Source types include: records of activist organizations, periodicals (e.g. magazines, newsletters), manuscripts, images, personal papers of individual women
• Time period: 19th-20th century
• Regions: Emphasizes United States and England. Also includes materials from Canada, Australia, and some other countries (mostly European).
