Review the basics of searching Tripod, getting books and articles, and navigating scholarly databases with these short, self-guided online tutorials.
To find more specific books on your activist or activist group, search Tripod for their name, or browse the subject headings for their name. There may also be an entry for them or for their social movement in one of the following encyclopedias:
The Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice contains over 300 entries alphabetically arranged for straightforward and convenient use by scholars and general readers alike. This reference is a comprehensive and systematic collection of designated entries that describe, in detail, important diversity and social justice themes.
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements (2015)From abolition and woman suffrage, to civil rights and the minimum wage, to the campaigns for clean air and clean water, struggles to mobilize groups to improve society and promote justice are among the enduring themes of American history. This four-volume set examines every significant social movement in American history, covering each movement's goals, tactics, and impact, as well as its successes and failures.
Three-volume set that provides detailed coverage of contemporary and historical issues relating to basic rights covered in the United States Constitution. It provides detailed history of court cases, events, Constitutional amendments and rights, personalities, and themes that have had an impact on our freedoms in America.
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice (2007)The Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice is a three-volume encyclopedia designed for readers to understand the topics, concepts, and ideas that motivate and shape the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice and includes biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced and continue to influence the study of activism.
Minority Rights in America consists of approximately 600 engagingly written alphabetically arranged entries on civil rights, political rights, and social rights in America since the days of Christopher Columbus. Many of the entries include suggested readings to facilitate additional research and understanding.
This book is the authoritative introduction to the history of black civil rights in the USA. It provides a clear and useful guide to the political, social and cultural history of black Americans and their pursuit of equal rights and recognition from 1865 through to the present day.
The ABC-CLIO companion to the 1960's Counterculture in America (1997)
Neil A. Hamilton systematically illuminates the social, cultural, and political revolution with entries covering groups such as the hippies, Diggers, Yippies, and Weathermen; individuals including Abbie Hoffman, Andy Warhol, Russell Means, and Stokely Carmichael; and events such as Watts, the Tripps festival, Woodstock, and various "be-ins."