Search through 40 newspapers published in African countries between 1800-1922. Includes newspapers in English, Portuguese, Xhosa, Zulu, Afrikaans, and other languages.
The collections are primarily from the 19th and early 20th centuries, with the longest runs being from newspapers from the Midwest and South. Includes Frederick Douglass's "North Star."
Search through 170 periodicals by and about African Americans, including academic and political journals, magazines, newsletters, literary journals, annual reports of organizations, and other genres. Includes publications from 25 states and Washington, DC.
This collection is based upon James P. Danky's African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography (Harvard, 1998).
American Antiquarian Society historical periodicals collection
Offers index and full text of historical American periodicals held by the American Antiquarian Society. The collections covers a wide range of topics including agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, politics. Parts I-V only.
Search through 1,800 magazines and journals published in the United States between 1740-1940. Includes early scientific publications, trade journals, popular magazines such as Ladies' Home Journal, and journals such as Puck, The Dial, and McClure's.
Ser.I, 1690-1876. This collection provides images and full-text content access to historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography, History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820, and in additional subsequent bibliographies. -- Ser.II, 1758-1900. This collection focuses on the 18th- and 19th-century newspapers. -- Ser. III, 1829-1922. This collection focuses on the 19th- and 20th-century newspapers including Civil War, Reconstruction, the Progressive Era and beyond. Includes many Philadelphia newspapers, including the Philadelphia Inquirer, 1860-1920.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
Provides full-text access to the entire run of the Illustrated London News, the world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper. Contains high-quality color images of all pages, and all text is fully searchable. Offers insight into all areas of culture and world history for the period covered. Covers 1842-2003.
[Select the link for your college, then select ProQuest Historical Newspapers]
Contains all (or nearly all) articles that appeared in the New York Times since its inception in 1851.
OpinionArchives provides electronic archives for journals of opinion, including The Nation, Commentary, The New Republic, Commonweal, Dissent, NACLA, American spectator, National review, Harper's magazine, New York review, and the New Yorker. The OpinionArchives metasearch tool provides cross-journal searching for all titles in the archive.
