Digital Collections is the National Library of Medicine's free online archive of historical biomedical books.
Recommended for History 066 students: Medicine in the Americas collection - Browse for topics you're interested in to view documents from the time, for example cholera.
Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) provides access to nearly 70,000 images in the collections of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S National Library of Medicine (NLM).
The collection includes portraits, photographs, caricatures, genre scenes, posters, and graphic art illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine dated from the 15th to 21st century. You can browse the images by time period, country, subject, or person.
The Historical Medical Digital Library (HMDL) features selections of books significant in the history of medicine. Patrons may browse the Digital Library in order to see frontispieces, title pages, dedications, selected portions of texts, illustrations and tables of contents.
A digital curation collaborative among some of the world’s leading medical libraries, promotes free and open access to historical resources in medicine. The MHL’s growing collection of digitized medical rare books, pamphlets, journals, and films number in the tens of thousands, with representative works from each of the past six centuries.
The MHL includes both US and international sources. Since this collection is fairly large, it's easiest to search for your topic of interest (e.g. typanosomiasis (aka sleeping sickness)) or browse the categories (e.g. tobacco).
A rich collection of documents and photographs from around the US, exploring the Influenza Epidemic of 1918. This resource also includes well-researched essays on the influenza epidemic in individual cities around the country.
View over 600 health-related advertisements printed in newspapers and magazines from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.
PubMed
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Find historical medical journal articles using Pubmed. Older articles can serve as primary sources because they show how members of the medical profession at the time thought and talked about the subject.
To find historical articles:
Click on the link for your school. Then on the Pubmed page, click "Topic-Specific Queries," and then select "History of Medicine."
Remember to use historically-appropriate search terms.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window