Primary Sources - United States - HIST 066: Disease, Culture, and Society in the Modern World: Comparative Perspectives (SC)

U.S. Primary Sources, General

Early American Imprints: Series I, Evans (1639-1800)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers American history and literature from the colonial period to the eighteenth century. Provides full-text digitization of the Early American Imprints microform set, Series I (1639-1800).
Early American Imprints: Series II, Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers American history and literature from the colonial period to the eighteenth century. Provides full-text digitization of the Early American Imprints microform set, Series II (1801-1819). Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States.
Internet Archive This link opens in a new window
The Internet Archive is a non-profit organization that is building an Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format. The Internet Archive includes more than 300,000 texts, as well as audio, moving images, software and archived web pages. A good source for books printed in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, including many travel accounts.
Making of America (University of Michigan) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to approximately 10,000 books and over 50,000 journal articles in the University of Michigan and Cornell University Libraries from the antebellum through reconstruction periods. Covers American social history focusing especially on education, psychology, religion, science, and technology.
Making of America (Cornell University) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to approximately 10,000 books and over 50,000 journal articles in the University of Michigan and Cornell University Libraries from the antebellum through reconstruction periods. Covers American social history focusing especially on education, psychology, religion, science, and technology.
Women & Social Movements in the United States: 1600-2000
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource provides documents pertaining to women and social movements. Includes document projects that interpret and present documents to address a question or a scholarly debate. Also includes images, a dictionary of social movements, a chronology and teaching tools. Covers the 17th century to the 21st century.
American Memory This link opens in a new window
Provides information on, and access to, digitized versions of primary-source collections on American history and culture, including photographs, documents, sound recordings, and motion pictures.
Documenting the American South This link opens in a new window
A collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the twentieth century.

Chester Oral History Project
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Supported by the History Department and the Lang Center for Civic and Social Responsibility at Swarthmore College, and by the Chester Housing Authority, the Chester Oral History Project consists of interviews with Chester residents and covers such topics as their migration experiences, education, and work as union organizers. Full interview transcripts and audio files can be retrieved from the History Department at Swarthmore College, Swarthmore PA; at Nia Center, Chester PA; and at Wolfgram Memorial Library at Widener University, Chester PA.

Ancestry.com
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wide-ranging collections of information for conducting genealogical and local history research. Includes: digitized images of the United States Federal Census from 1790 forward; the American Genealogical Biographical Index; Passenger and Immigration Lists Index; United Kingdom and United States Directories 1680-1830; court, land, and probate records; and many other resources. Tip: If you're presented with a message that the page isn't redirecting properly, try turning off the third party cookies in your browser.

U.S. Government Publications

U.S. Congressional Serial Set
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text of all reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives from 1817-1994.
ProQuest Congressional
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides daily updated information on the U.S. legislature, including full text of bills starting in 1989, public laws starting in 1988, committee reports starting in 1990, House and Senate documents starting in 1995, Congressional Record starting in 1985, Federal Register starting in 1980, National Journal starting in 1977 and other government information.
Digital National Security Archive (DNSA)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text declassified government documents owned by the National Security Archive covering world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions. Includes collections of indexed documents (with new collections added yearly), glossaries, chronologies, bibliographies, overviews, and photographs. Coverage from post-World War II to present.

FBIS Daily Reports
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
FBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government. Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world . "The United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence" Swarthmore holdings from 1941-1974, Haverford from 1941-1996

American State Papers, 1789-1838
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to U.S. congressional materials from 1789 through 1838, including 1st Congress, 1st Session through 25th Congress, 2nd Session.

HIST 066: Disease, Culture, and Society in the Modern World: Comparative Perspectives (SC): Primary Sources - United States

U.S. Primary Sources, General

U.S. Government Publications