Research Guides: MATH 097: Senior Conference (SC): Finding Background Information

Finding Definitions & Background Information - Online

Encyclopedias & handbooks, both online & in print, are a good source of definitions and overview articles.

Wolfram Mathworld
"The Web's Most Extensive Mathematics Resource." A well-organized web-site with sites covering topics from Algebra to Topology and everything in between.
Encyclopedia of Mathematics
The Encyclopedia of Mathematics wiki is an open access resource designed specifically for the mathematics community. It has more than 8,000 entries, illuminating nearly 50,000 notions in mathematics.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics
The Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics
This is linked to the 2002 edition of this dictionary. The newest edition is available in print in Cornell's reference collection (main level).

Browse the QA section of the reference collection on Cornell Library's main floor for more titles.

The Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics by B. S. Everitt; Anders Skrondal
ISBN: 9780521766999
S Cornell Reference QA276.14 .E84 2010
Nearly 4000 statistical terms are defined & explained, covering medical, survey, theoretical, and applied statistics, including computational and graphical aspects.
CRC Standard Mathematical Tables & Formulae by Daniel Zwillinger
ISBN: 9781439835487
Cornell Reference QA47 .C371 2012
With over 6,000 entries, CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae provides essential formulas, tables, figures, and descriptions, including many diagrams, group tables, and integrals not available online.
Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences
ISBN: 0471055468
Cornell Reference QA276.14 .E5 v.1-9 + suppl.
A good source of introductory overview articles, classic citations and topic ideas.
Handbook of Applicable Mathematics
ISBN: 0471278211
Cornell Reference QA36 .H36 v. 1-6
A good source of introductory overview articles, classic citations and topic ideas.