Research Guides: HIST 354: Law, Crime, and Police in Early Modern Europe (HC): Using Source Material

Online Source Collections in Tripod

There are some online collections available for early modern printed texts. Haverford has access to bothEarly English Books Online (EEBO) and Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO):

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains digital images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. This collection contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Includes books, pamphlets, manuscripts and newspapers.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 including books, pamphlets, almanacs, Bibles and treatises. Subjects covered include history, geography, fine arts, medicine, science, literature, language, religion, philosophy and law. Significant collections of women writers, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare are also included.