Research Guides: HIST 336: History of Health and Medicine in Africa (BMC): Scholarly Journal Articles

General Resources

JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.
Africa-Wide
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers access to multi-disciplinary information on Africa including books, journal articles, maps and music recordings. Some materials are in full-text. Covers 19th century-present.

Web of Science Citation Databases
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
These three databases (Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science) are set up to search sources in journal article footnotes. This allows you to find newer articles which cite key books and articles for your topic. By relying on connections between authors and moving forward in time, citation searching can open up new avenues of research.

ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.

Discipline-specific Databases

Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book reviews and dissertations that cover world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in "America: History and Life"). Includes publications from 1953-present.
Swarthmore has access to the full text.
PsycINFO
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Essential database of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations in psychology and related behavioral sciences from 1887 - present.
Includes PsycARTICLES journals.
Anthropology Plus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute. It contains citations to journal articles, reports, and edited works in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, and more. Covers the late 19th century to the present.
Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) Index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports, intergovernmental, and private organizations reports. Areas covered include political, economic, social and public policy issues. Covers 1972-present. The index in paper dates back to 1915, and can be found on the B level of Canaday (Z7163.P9).
PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed includes over 19 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.

Also try BioMedLib, which sorts PubMed search results by relevance! It's much easier to use.
Sociological Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers in the fields of sociology, social work and related disciplines as far back as 1963. Includes Social Services Abstracts journals.