Research Guides: HIST 336: History of Health and Medicine in Africa (BMC): Reference Books

Medicine

Merck Manuals
Online versions of the home and professional editions of these well-regarded medical encyclopedias.
MEDLINEplus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Consumer health information clearinghouse from the National Library of Medicine. Provides information on diseases and conditions, a directory of organizations, current health news, and more.

Africana: the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Africa south of the Sahara
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

CIA World Fact Book This link opens in a new window
A good source for quick background information on the countries of the world.
World Development Indicators (WDI) Online This link opens in a new window
Contains data covering 225 countries and 18 regional and income groups. An extensive collection of data includes mortality, literacy, health, and other indicators. Covers 1960-present.

Encyclopedia of world cultures
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference Area (B, H, S): GN307 .E53 1991

This ten volume encyclopedia is organized by area of the world. It provides detailed background information on cultures, including demographics, customs, kinship, economy, and medical practices.
Encyclopedia of medical anthropology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Describes the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and provides an overview of important topics in medical anthropology.
Health and Illness: a cross-cultural encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Health and Illness: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia introduces readers to a colorful array of traditional and alternative healing systems from around the globe.