Research Guides: CITY 229: Colonial &amp; Post-Colonial Reflections (BMC): Government Info & Stats

Governmental Information and Statistics

CIA World Fact Book This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed profiles of all of the countries of the world. Offers information on each country's geography, people, government, economy, communications, military, and transnational issues, as well as maps and flag images. Covers 2000 - present in PDF; current interactive edition is continually updated.

Research at the World Bank
The Development Research Group is the World Bank’s in-house research department, which aims to conduct research to help guide development policy for the Bank and external clients alike. With nine programs, it produces the majority of the Bank’s research and enjoys a high international profile

Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis, find newspaper and magazine articles, news transcripts, reference works, and legal materials, including Supreme Court cases. Includes the New York Times from 1980-present.
UNdata This link opens in a new window
A single entry portal for UN databases. Find data series by searching or browsing by theme. Includes Country Profiles, Advanced Search and Glossaries to aid research. All countries and a wide range of themes are covered.
Statistical Agencies (International) This link opens in a new window
List of links to foreign governmental statistics departments.
World Development Indicators (WDI) Online This link opens in a new window
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized international sources. It includes more than 1100 indicators on population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environment, covering 210 countries and 18 regional and income groups. Also includes the International Debt Statistics (IDS) database. Data ranges from 1960-present.