This guide is designed to point you toward a variety of resources, both electronic and in print, that should help you with your chemistry thesis/project research. It is also general enough to help you with most other chemistry research.
A core research tool for the chemical literature, indexing journal articles and patent records, as well as chemical substances and reactions. You can search by topic, author, and substances by name or CAS Registry Number, OR use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions.
Use of this database is restricted to the TriCollege community. You must set up a user name & password the first time you use this database.
Web of Science
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database can be searched by subject, author, and journal title. Articles that CITE a known author or work can also be searched. Cited reference searching helps identify more recent articles on the same topic. Coverage for the Science Citation Index in WofS goes back to 1900. Works seamlessly with Endnote for organizing & formatting your citations!
PubMed
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Free database of biomedical and related life and behavioral sciences journal articles. Includes MEDLINE index and links to PubMed Central open access articles when available.
Google Scholar
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Use the "Check Tripod" and "Find it @ Swarthmore" links to see if we have access to full text. GS also often provides full-text access to articles in journals to which we don't actually subscribe - so get in the habit of copying & pasting title articles in to GS (use "QUOTES" so GS treats the title as a phrase!). Look for a PDF in right column, or check "All x versions" - there will often be access to full-text via one of these versions. If you try this trick in GOOGLE, be sure to add 'PDF' to you search!
ScienceDirect
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text,online access to journal articles in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. The library now is 'subscribing' to most Elsevier journals on a PER ARTICLE basis. So if you find an article you would like to read, press the PURCHASE button. BUT - check GOOGLE SCHOLAR first, as you might find a FREE version of the article in a university or college archive!
Chemistry Society Journals
American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides links to journals and magazines published by the American Chemical Society.
RSC Journals
This link opens in a new window
This platform provides access to journals, books and databases from the Royal Society of Chemistry. From this page, you can reach over 1 million chemical science articles and chapters. Swarthmore has access to the GOLD Package of RSC journals, so you should be able to get access to ALL articles published in RSC journals...
RSC journals archive
This link opens in a new window
The RSC Journals Archive contains all articles published by the RSC (and its forerunner societies) from 1841 (the first issue of Memoirs and Proceedings of the Chemical Society) to 2004 (as of Sept. 2008) including top titles such as ChemComm, The Analyst, PCCP, Organic & Biomolecular Chemistry and Dalton Transactions. The articles are available via issue contents lists. They are also accessible from full-text searches of the PDF files and by more specific searches of the bibliographic information and in some cases by abstract. In addition, some articles contain "reference links" to full text and CAS abstracts.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window