Research Guides: Census & Statistics: Historical Data

Historical Statistics: United States

Social Explorer
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers access to reports and interactive maps for the U.S. Census (1790-present), World Development Indicators (1960-2013), and Eurostat (European Union data), among others. A project of Queens College, sponsored by the New York Times and the National Science Foundation.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
- This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. (2013-2017)

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. Series (1878-2012)
Archived editions of the Statistical Abstract of the U.S. up to 2012 are available via the website of the U.S. Census Bureau.

Historical Statistics of the United States
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations. Covers the colonial period to the present.

NHGIS - National Historic Geographic Information System
The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2010.
1790 - 2000 Census Publications -- Scanned
Digital copies of hundreds of volumes of census volumes. These are scanned copies of the print volumes produced at the release of each census since 1790. They are not a complete set, but provide the vast majority of important documents. Included are tables for census tracts, counties, cities, etc.
A Handsome Atlas: The US Census Statistical Atlas
An interesting source for exploring late 19th century US Census data. Published in 1870, 1880, and 1890 (reborn as the Census Atlas in 2000), the Statistical Atlas offers visualizations of Census data related to population, religion, ethnicity, education, and more.
County and City Data Books (historical)
Provides access to data from the County and City Data Books from 1944-2000.

Historical Statistics: Global

Social Explorer
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers access to reports and interactive maps for the U.S. Census (1790-present), World Development Indicators (1960-2013), and Eurostat (European Union data), among others. A project of Queens College, sponsored by the New York Times and the National Science Foundation.

International Historical Statistics: The Americas, 1750-2000 by Brian Mitchell
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0333994108
Publication Date: 2003
Updated to 2000 wherever possible, it provides key economic and social indicators for the last 250 years for countries on the American continent. Includes statistics that can be compared across countries.
International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2000 by Brian Mitchell
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0333994124
Publication Date: 2003
Updated to 2002 wherever possible, it provides key economic and social indicators for the last 250 years. Includes data that can be compared across multiple countries.
International Historical Statistics: Europe, 1750-2000 by Brian Mitchell
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0333994116
Publication Date: 2003
Updated to 2000 wherever possible, it provides key economic and social indicators for European countries over the last 250 years. Includes statistics that can be compared across countries.
How Was Life? Global Well-Being since 1820 by OECD
ISBN: 9789264214262
Publication Date: 2014-10-15
"How was life in 1820, and how has it improved since then?... [This report] presents the first systematic evidence on long-term trends in global well-being since 1820 for 25 major countries and 8 regions in the world covering more than 80% of the world's population."