Census & Statistics

Has available data sets on key topics in arts and cultural policy.

This site provides good descriptions of the indicators themselves available through the Metropolitan Indicators Project.

Data are from research studies, the Bureau of Justice Statistics, the DOJ, and other federal agencies. Topics include: Attitude Surveys, Community Studies, Corrections, Court Case Processing, Courts, Criminal Justice System, Crime and Delinquency, Official Statistics, Police, Victimization, Drugs, Alcohol, and Crime, Violence Against Women, Homicide Studies

Construct data tables on criminal offenses for all 50 states and local agencies, evaluate Crime & Justice Electronic Data Abstract spreadsheets with aggregated data.

Mostly composed from the Uniform Crime Reports, the reference volume includes data from states, cities and counties about reported crimes.

Condition of Education is an annual publication listing the most requested statistics on Education. Not a good source for datasets themselves, but very helpful for discovering which data sources provide the kind of data you're looking for.

The publication contains information on a variety of subjects in the field of education statistics, including the number of schools and colleges, teachers, enrollments, and graduates, in addition to educational attainment, finances, federal funds for education, libraries, and international education. Supplemental information on population trends, attitudes on education, education characteristics of the labor force, government finances, and economic trends provides background for evaluating education data.

The Kaiser Family Foundation polling archive holds more than 85,000 questions on health issues and the health care system. Includes a Question Finder. Downloads include reports, charts, and methodology files. The Kaiser Health Tracking Poll is their signature survey project.

The NCHS includes links to most major federal sources of health data and statistics. Use Fastats to look for statistics by topic, and to navigate the site.

This includes lots of overlaps with the NCHS but the interface can provide easier access to a number of topics.

Housing Data is distributed in a number of places. This page provides links to most of the major housing topic sources.

HUD USER provides interested researchers with access to the original data sets generated by PD&R-sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey, HUD median family income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.

Annual reports presented by the Department of Homeland Security's Office of Immigration Statistics. Covers 1996-most recent issue.

State by state comparison of refugees by country of origin.

Archived editions of the Statistical Abstract of the U.S. up to 2012 are available via the website of the U.S. Census Bureau.

Website that collects links to data and reports on the U.S.' foreign-born population: anyone who is not a U.S. citizen at birth, including those who become U.S. citizens through naturalization.

Summary data on petitions and applications received by the USCIS, organized by Form.

Statistics on immigration court decisions, including Asylum cases.

Data on refugee admissions and resettlements. See also the Reports tab on website of the Refugee Processing Center.

The BLS is the premiere federal source for employment data in the US.

The Census Bureau has brought together major sources of income data and statistics availabe. A great starting point for income data.

Links and descriptions of the major poverty indicators, statistics, and datasets.